Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Red Collection logo

The Red Collection Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingOHFranchising since 2017
CAverageAverage41/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$221K – $1.6M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02698FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Red Collection by Red Roof is an upscale-economy hotel franchise for conversions and new builds. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing front desk, housekeeping, and revenue under brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Red Collection franchise requires a total initial investment of $221K – $1.6M, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$221K – $1.6M
11th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.5%
2nd pct Lodging
Units
5
17th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$221K – $1.6M
Median $8.9M
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$112K – $154K
Median $312K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.5%
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
7.5% of rev
Median 8.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
5 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
20.0%
Median 0.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $221K – $1.6M including a $30K franchise fee, 4.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 1 closed); 3 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • FLAGItem 4 discloses a bankruptcy of an officer or of a company an officer ran, not of the franchisor. Review Item 4 for details.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Red Collection, LLC
Parent company
Red Roof Franchising, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
WRRH LP
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
7815 Walton Parkway, New Albany, Ohio 43054
Auditor
Plante & Moran, PLLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$92.0M
vs $94.2M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 8

1 other brand on this site name WRRH LP as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Zack Gharib
Headquarters
OH
Founded
2017
FDD year
2025
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 90% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$221K – $1.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 27 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty4.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$112K – $154K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

The Red Collection: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$112K$154K
Equipment, build-out, other$79K$1.4M
Total initial investment$221K$1.6M

Source: The Red Collection 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$221K – $1.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$112K – $154K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Red Collection: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$15K
Training fee$1K
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$50
Inventory (initial)$8K – $49K
Total fee load7.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Red Collection makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Red Collection unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $221K–$1.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $112K–$154K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.0M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.5% (near the Lodging median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +66.7% over 3 years (1 opened, 1 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How The Red Collection Compares

Metric
The Red Collection
Category median
vs median
Investment
$895K
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
5
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units5Verified — printed on page 49 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+66.7% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate20.0% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
5
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
20.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+66.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+66.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
3
0.60 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
20.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
20.0%
Units that stopped operating
2022
3
Franchised units
2023
5+2
Franchised units
2024
5±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 3 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

3

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage41Verdict score 41/100

Financials are parent-level (net worth $26.6M), so brand equity is not judged directly. One affiliate litigation matter (Red Roof affiliate NJFPA suit, plus a 2014 consent order) and an old disclosed prior-affiliate bankruptcy (ASTECH, via a GC's former employer, liquidation confirmed 2024). These are peripheral/old, so a single minor concern.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
2854

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

One pending franchisee lawsuit (HP Holding LLC v. Red Roof Inns, Inc.) alleging breach of contract, tortious interference, and NJFPA violations; one concluded Maryland Securities Division inquiry into franchise activities

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: an officer. An officer’s own bankruptcy or a company an officer ran, not the franchisor’s

In re ASTECH Engineered Products, Inc., Case No. 22-10635-BLS (Bankr. Del.), Chapter 11 filing on July 15, 2022, plan of liquidation confirmed May 20, 2024

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Plante & Moran, PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $92.0MYr 2: $94.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor (TRC) 2024 annual revenue of $492,846, distinct from parent RRF's consolidated revenue of $91,958,435 (2024). Item 8 states the franchisor's own total revenue as $492,846 (FY ending 2024-12-31); the statements above are the parent's.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHAffiliate litigation (HP Holding v. Red Roof, NJFPA)
  2. 02HIGHOld prior-affiliate bankruptcy (ASTECH, unrelated GC connection)
  3. 03MINORParent-level financials, net worth $26,620,489
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 disclosure; small 5-unit system

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training44 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory sizeℹvariable (1-2 city blocks to a small town)
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawOhio
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

One pending franchisee lawsuit (HP Holding LLC v. Red Roof Inns, Inc.) alleging breach of contract, tortious interference, and NJFPA violations; one concluded Maryland Securities Division inquiry into franchise activities

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
37 hrs
On-the-job training
7 hrs
Training location
Mixed (Live Webinar, On Demand Learning Module, Your Hotel)
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
9 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Reservation Platform / PMS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Reservation Platform / PMS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

11 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 11 contacts · $49
Free preview
(678) 501-••••
Unlock all 11 contacts
(703) 349-••••
(614) 225-••••
609-522-••••
(614) 225-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Red Collection franchise?

The total investment to open a The Red Collection franchise ranges from $221K – $1.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Red Collection franchise owners earn?

The Red Collection makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Red Collection?

The Red Collection is franchised by The Red Collection, LLC. Its parent company is Red Roof Franchising, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is WRRH LP. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Red Collection FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Red Collection FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Red Collection's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Red Collection (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Red Collection franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Red Collection has 5 total units in the United States, including 5 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Red Collection a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Red Collection as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Red Collection, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.