Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Techstars logo

Techstars Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesCOFranchising since 2024
DBelow averageBelow average30/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$60K – $1.5M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02574FDD 2025Data QualityStandard67%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Techstars is a startup accelerator franchise that runs mentorship-driven programs and invests in early-stage companies. Franchisees operate accelerator programs, sourcing startups, mentoring founders, and managing investments.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Techstars franchise requires a total initial investment of $60K – $1.5M, including a $250K – $850K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$60K – $1.5M
17th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
1
2nd pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$60K – $1.5M
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$250K – $850K
Median $48K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $150K
Median $23K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
50.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 39 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 3.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $60K – $1.5M including a $250K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 30/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Techstars Startup Communities LLC
Parent company
Techstars Central LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
David Cohen
Incorporated in
Colorado
HQ
4845 Pearl East Circle, Ste 118, PMB 99696, Boulder, CO 80301-6112
Auditor
REDPATH AND COMPANY, LLC
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
David Cohen
Headquarters
CO
Founded
2024
FDD year
2025
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 500% above the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$60K – $1.5MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$250,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$0 – $150K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown8 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Feenot refundable$0$850K
Rent, Utilities, Furniture and Leasehold Improvements$0$250K
Expenses for Initial Techstars Programs$10K$100K
Insurance$15K$50K
Licenses and Permits$5K$15K
Professional Fees (lawyer, accountant)$30K$100K
Techstars Expensesnot refundable$0$20K
Additional Funds (for first 3 months)$0$150K
Total initial investment$60K$1.5M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$60K – $1.5M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $150K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$250K – $850K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
30% of the carried interest and 15% to 30% of Sponsorship…
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
50.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Techstars: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$20
Renewal fee$150
Total fee load50.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Techstars makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Techstars unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $60K–$1.5M (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$873K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 119 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 50.0% — above the Business Services median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System shrank 100.0% over 3 years. Ask existing franchisees about local market conditions.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Techstars Compares

Metric
Techstars
Category median
vs median
Investment
$798K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
1
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 31 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growthEffectively gone (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
Effectively gone
Likely small-sample artifact
3-yr CAGR
Effectively gone
Likely small-sample artifact

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
12
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score30/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average30Verdict score 30/100

Brand-new franchisor (2024) with 1 company-owned unit, 0 franchised units, $0 revenue and a nominal $50,000 net worth. Single inherited litigation matter (FanDuel fraud/fiduciary suit, motion to dismiss pending) against a former director, not the brand itself. Net growth -100% reflects the tiny/early base.

Low confidence±15 pts
1545

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

Plaintiffs v. Shamrock Capital Advisors, LLC et al. (NY Supreme Court, Case No. 651223/2020) - former FanDuel employees allege breach of fiduciary duty and fraud against former officers/directors/investors including CIO Andrew Cleland; motion to dismiss pending, franchisor believes claims meritless.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · REDPATH AND COMPANY, LLC

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 30 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNascent: 1 unit, 0 franchised, $0 revenue, $50,000 net worth
  2. 02HIGHOne inherited litigation (breach of fiduciary/fraud, motion to dismiss pending), franchisor deems meritless
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19; net growth -100% off a trivial base
  4. 04MINORAudited financials, no bankruptcy/going-concern

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 119 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 50.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term4 yrs
Renewal term1 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training18 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term4 years
Renewal term1 year
Allowed renewalsℹ6
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹ20,000 to 20,000,000 population (metropolitan area or city)
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ4
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationBoulder, Colorado
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawColorado
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Plaintiffs v. Shamrock Capital Advisors, LLC et al. (NY Supreme Court, Case No. 651223/2020) - former FanDuel employees allege breach of fiduciary duty and fraud against former officers/directors/investors including CIO Andrew Cleland; motion to dismiss pending, franchisor believes claims meritless.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
18 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Application Management System (AMS), Bizzabo, and Notion
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Application Management System (AMS), Bizzabo, and Notion

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Techstars franchise?

The total investment to open a Techstars franchise ranges from $60K – $1.5M, with an initial franchise fee of $250K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Techstars franchise owners earn?

Techstars makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Techstars?

Techstars is franchised by Techstars Startup Communities LLC. Its parent company is Techstars Central LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Techstars FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Techstars FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Techstars's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Techstars (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Techstars franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Techstars has 1 total units in the United States.

Is Techstars a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Techstars as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 30 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Techstars, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.