Steamatic Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026
- Investment
- $222K – $445K
- Disclosed sales
- not disclosed
- SBA charge-off
- 23.3%
- on 43 loans
Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records
Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology
Steamatic is a cleaning and restoration franchise offering carpet and air duct cleaning plus water, fire, and mold restoration. Franchisees run local operations, managing technicians, scheduling, and residential and commercial accounts.
FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026
A Steamatic franchise requires a total initial investment of $222K – $445K, including a $40K – $70K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 23.3% charge-off rate across 43 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →
Sources, dates and evidence
FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file
Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.
Overview
- Investment
- $222K – $445K
- 75th pct Cleaning & Ma…
- Avg gross sales
- N/A
- Royalty
- 8.0%
- 56th pct Cleaning & Ma…
- Units
- 44
- 38th pct Cleaning & Ma…
- SBA charge-off
- 23.3%
- % of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category
Quick verdict · Cleaning & Maintenance · color = vs category peers
Green = favorable by >10% vs Cleaning & Maintenance median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)
Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology
Bottom line
- COSTTotal investment $222K – $445K including a $40K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
- RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
- RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 23.3% across 43 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
- GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 4 closed) (Item 20).
- FLAG4 units terminated last reporting year (9.1% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.
Item 1 · who you're contracting with
The Franchisor
Corporate structure & franchisor financials
- Legal entity
- Steamatic, LLC
- Parent company
- Steamatic Holdings, LLC (f/k/a Johns Lyng Florida, LLC)
- FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
- Ultimate parent
- Johns Lyng Group, Limited
- Predecessor
- Steamatic, Inc.
- Prior franchisor entity
- CEO title
- Managing Director
- Brent Adamczyk
- Incorporated in
- Florida
- HQ
- 4320 Marsh Ridge Rd, Suite 190, Carrollton, TX 75010
- Auditor
- Kezos & Dunlavy
- Audited financials
- Franchisor revenue
- $4.0M
- vs $1.7M prior year
Independent franchisee associations
- Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)
Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.
Affiliated brands
- JLG Florida
Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).
Overview
About
- CEO
- Brent Adamczyk
- Headquarters
- TX
- Founded
- 1967
- FDD year
- 2025
- States available
- 23
Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?
Entry cost runs 97% above the typical cleaning & maintenance franchise.
Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7
Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items
Initial investment breakdown
| Line item | Low | High | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Feenot refundable | $40K | $70K | |
| Franchise Startup Feenot refundable | $5K | $5K | |
| Training Expenses | $2K | $3K | |
| Insurance | $2K | $3K | |
| Franchise Equipment Packagenot refundable | $61K | $84K | |
| Franchise Equipment Package Shipping Expensesnot refundable | $2K | $8K | |
| Optional HVAC Equipment Packagenot refundable | $7K | $11K | |
| Franchise Equipment Package Installation | $3K | $6K | |
| Vehicle wrap and installation | $3K | $8K | |
| Vehicle | $10K | $75K | |
| Storage | $0 | $600 | |
| Computer System | $3K | $5K | |
| Software License Fee | $2K | $3K | |
| Miscellaneous Expenses | $9K | $14K | |
| Additional Funds - 3 Months | $75K | $150K | |
| Total initial investment | $222K | $445K |
Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.
Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate
The Vitals
- Total investment
- $222K – $445K
- Bottom third — review vs category
- Liquid capital req'd
- $75K – $150K
- Bottom third — review vs category
- Franchise fee
- $40K – $70K
- Top 40% of category vs category
- Royalty
- 8.0%
- Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
- Ad fund
- 2.0%
- typical 3–5%
- Total fee load
- 3.0%
- vs 9–13% typical
Ongoing fees · Item 6
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Royalty | 8.0% of gross sales |
| Marketing / ad fund | 2.0% of gross sales |
| Technology fee | $0 |
| Transfer fee | $12K |
| Renewal fee | $5K |
| Total fee load | 3.0% of rev |
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Steamatic makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.
Returns model · single-unit ROIC
What would one Steamatic unit return on the cash you put in?
Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.
Unlevered ROIC · per unit
Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.
—
An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.
These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.
Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD
Financial Performance
No financial performance representation
This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
Operator outlook
What the numbers say
Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.
Fee burden
Total ongoing fee load of 3.0% — below the Cleaning & Maintenance median of 8.3%.
Disclosure
This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
Operator retention
System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 44 units.
Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.
vs Cleaning & Maintenance medians
How Steamatic Compares
Category median of published Cleaning & Maintenance brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.
Is the system healthy?
Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20
Unit growth
Item 20 · unit dynamics
The Growth Chart
- Total units
- 44
- Opened
- 4
- Last reporting year
- Closed
- 4
- Terminated
- 4
- Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
- Non-renewed
- 0
- Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
- Turnover rate
- 9.1%
- Company-owned
- 3
- Corporate units in the system
- % franchised
- 1%
- vs corporate-owned
- Net growth (3-yr)
- +0.0%
- Net unit change over 3 years
- 3-yr CAGR
- +0.0%
- Compounded over last 3 years
Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers
- Terminated
- 4
- Not renewed
- 0
- Transferred
- 1
- Reacquired
- 0
- Franchisor bought back
- Signed, not yet open
- 0
- 0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
- Projected new
- 0
- Franchisor's next-year forecast
- Continuity rate
- 91.1%
- Units that stayed open
- Termination rate
- 19.5%
- Franchisor-initiated terminations
Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.
Item 20 · 24 states with active franchisees
The Territory Map
Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).
States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.
Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list
36 current owners across 22 states; 4 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.
- CA 6
- TX 5
- AR 2
- FL 2
- KS 2
- LA 2
- VA 2
- AZ 1
- CO 1
- CT 1
- GA 1
- IA 1
- +10 more states
Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.
SBA loan performance
Government records
SBA Loan Data
Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.
- Total loans
- 43
- Loan volume
- $8.6M
- Median loan
- $70K
- 50th percentile
- Charge-off rate
- 23.3%
- on 43 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology
Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated
- Repayment rate (PIF)
- 76.7%
- 5-yr charge-off
- 0.0%
- Loans approved 2021+
- Active lenders
- 21
- Defaults
- 7
- Typical loan rate
- N/A
- Franchised industry avg
- 16.6%
- brand above franchise avg ↑
- Jobs supported
- 23
- 1.1 per loan
- Lender concentration
- 23%
- top lender's share
Franchise vs independent — in carpet and upholstery cleaning services, franchised businesses charge off at 16.6% vs 18.5% for independents — franchising is associated with 10% lower SBA default risk in this category.
Top lenders financing Steamatic franchisees
Showing 3 of 21 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.
Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.
Lender network · 7(a) + 504
SBA Lending Report
Full lending analysis for Steamatic from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.
- Principal loss rate
- 4.5%
- Avg SBA guarantee
- 76%
- Avg chargeoff amount
- $15K
- Lender concentration
- 23.1%
- Job velocity
- 1.1 per $100K
- NAICS benchmark
- 26.5%
- NAICS 561740
- Jobs supported
- 23
Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 23% of loans
| # | Lender | Loans | Volume | Default % |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bank of America, National Association | 3 | $146K | 66.7% |
| 2 | Fulton Bank, National Association | 2 | $35K | 100.0% |
| 3 | Loans from Old Closed Lenders | 1 | $217K | 0.0% |
| 4 | JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 1 | $20K | 0.0% |
| 5 | Crews Bank and Trust | 1 | $68K | 100.0% |
| 6 | Bank OZK | 1 | $95K | 0.0% |
| 7 | Morton Community Bank | 1 | $80K | 100.0% |
| 8 | Royal CU | 1 | $516K | 0.0% |
| 9 | Emprise Bank | 1 | $750K | 0.0% |
| 10 | Prosperity Bank | 1 | $70K | 0.0% |
Geographic failure vector
| State | Loans | Defaults | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| FLFlorida | 5 | 3 | 60.0% |
| ILIllinois | 2 | 1 | 50.0% |
| VAVirginia | 2 | 2 | 100.0% |
| KSKansas | 1 | 0 | 0.0% |
| TXTexas | 1 | 0 | 0.0% |
| WAWashington | 1 | 0 | 0.0% |
| WIWisconsin | 1 | 0 | 0.0% |
SBA 7(a) lending trend
Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict
A 23.3% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 4 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.
What could kill this investment?
SBA loans charge off at 23.3% — 45% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.
Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21
Risk analysis
FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21
Risk & Legal
Litigation (Item 3)
Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).
2022 suit by former franchisor owners (WRS Parties) against SL/JL Parties over asset purchase agreement earn-out payments; settled with $1,140,000 payment by JL Parties, franchise agreement termination, and mutual releases; case dismissed with prejudice.
Bankruptcy (Item 4)
None disclosed
Audited financials (Item 21)
Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy
Franchisor revenue (Item 21)
Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)
Total revenue of $3,986,316 for fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2024 is disclosed in Item 6 (as the base for the 0.57% supplier-revenue figure), sourced from the franchisor's (Steamatic, LLC) audited financials. The actual Item 21 / Exhibit B audited financial statements (balance sheet, income statement) were NOT present in the extracted text — only the Exhibit B divider page was included — so total_assets, total_liabilities, net_worth, net_income, and auditor_name could not be extracted and are left null rather than guessed.
Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16
- Franchisor sells you products: No
- Must buy proprietary products: No
- Restricted to system-approved products: No
Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict
- 01HIGHOne litigation matter (settled, dismissed with prejudice)
- 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
- 03MEDFranchisor-level net worth not disclosed
Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification
What are you signing up for?
Ongoing fees run about 3.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.
Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17
FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal
Contract & Territory Detail
| Initial term | 10 years |
|---|---|
| Renewal term | 5 years |
| Allowed renewalsℹ | 3 |
| Territory type | Protected territory |
| Protected territory | Yes |
| Exclusive territoryℹ | No |
| Territory population | 400,000 |
| Online sales rightsℹ | Restricted |
| Franchisor can compete | Yes |
| Hire a manager? | Allowed |
| Owner-operator | Required |
| Non-compete (years)ℹ | 2 years |
| Non-compete (miles)ℹ | 25 mi |
| Right of first refusalℹ | Yes |
| RoFR response window | 30 days |
| Transfer requires consent | Yes |
| Termination notice | 30 days |
| Termination groundsℹ | 2 |
| Curable defaultsℹ | 1 |
| Mandatory arbitration | Yes |
| Arbitration location | Principal city closest to franchisor's principal place of business (currently Dallas, Texas) |
| Jury trial waiver | Yes |
| Governing law | Texas |
| Litigation count | 1 |
View Item 3 litigation summary
2022 suit by former franchisor owners (WRS Parties) against SL/JL Parties over asset purchase agreement earn-out payments; settled with $1,140,000 payment by JL Parties, franchise agreement termination, and mutual releases; case dismissed with prejudice.
Items 10, 11
Training & Operations
- Classroom training
- 79 hrs
- On-the-job training
- 33 hrs
- Training location
- On-site and off-site
- Ongoing training
- Required
- Site selection
- Not applicable - mobile business operated from truck/van/home, no site selection required
- Franchisor financing
- Offered
- Item 10
- POS system
- Xactimate, DASH, QuickBooks, and Mitigate
- Operating tech stack
Items 5 & 11
Franchisor Support
Technology: Xactimate, DASH, QuickBooks, and Mitigate
Item 20 · call current owners
Franchisee Contacts
40 owners to call
Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20
Frequently asked questions
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to open a Steamatic franchise?
The total investment to open a Steamatic franchise ranges from $222K – $445K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).
What do Steamatic franchise owners earn?
Steamatic makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.
Who owns Steamatic?
Steamatic is franchised by Steamatic, LLC. Its parent company is Steamatic Holdings, LLC (f/k/a Johns Lyng Florida, LLC). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Johns Lyng Group, Limited. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.
What is Item 19 in the Steamatic FDD?
The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Steamatic FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.
What is Steamatic's franchise failure rate?
Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Steamatic has a charge-off rate of 23.3% across 43 loans, meaning 23.3% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.
How many Steamatic franchise locations are there?
As of their most recent FDD filing, Steamatic has 44 total units in the United States, including 41 franchised units and 3 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.
Is Steamatic a good franchise to buy?
FranchiseVerdict rates Steamatic as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.
Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.
For franchisors
Are you the franchisor?
If you represent Steamatic, you can request corrections or provide updated information.
Other Cleaning & Maintenance franchises
Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Cleaning & Maintenance category
Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.