Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Smartstyle logo

Smartstyle Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Personal Care & BeautyMNFranchising since 2016
BAbove averageAbove average51/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$184K – $336K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
2.3%
on 75 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02353FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

SmartStyle is a value hair-salon franchise operating inside Walmart stores, offering cuts, color, and styling to shoppers. Franchisees run the in-store salon managing stylists, scheduling, and retail product sales.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Smartstyle franchise requires a total initial investment of $184K – $336K, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 2.3% charge-off rate across 75 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$184K – $336K
19th pct Personal Care…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
1st pct Personal Care…
Units
911
60th pct Personal Care…
SBA charge-off
2.3%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Personal Care & Beauty · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$184K – $336K
Median $402K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $45K
Median $34K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 6.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.9%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
2.3%
75 loans · Median 5.7%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
911 units
Median 40 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
18.8%
Median 0.8%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
16 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Personal Care & Beauty median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $184K – $336K including a $40K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 51/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 2.3% across 75 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -166 franchised outlets in the latest year (5 opened, 171 closed) (Item 20).
  • LEGAL16 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men & Women, Inc.
Parent company
Regis Corporation
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Interim President and Chief Executive Officer, Regis Corporation
Jim Lain
Incorporated in
Minnesota
HQ
3701 Wayzata Boulevard, Suite 600, Minneapolis, MN 55416
Auditor
Grant Thornton LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$210.1M
vs $203.0M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 8

3 other brands on this site name Regis Corporation as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Jim Lain
Headquarters
MN
Founded
1968
FDD year
2025
States available
48

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 35% below the typical personal care & beauty franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$184K – $336KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$39,500Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $45K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Smartstyle: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$45K
Equipment, build-out, other$130K$252K
Total initial investment$184K$336K

Source: Smartstyle 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$184K – $336K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Smartstyle: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$500
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$2K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Smartstyle makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Smartstyle unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $184K–$336K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$45K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$290K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Personal Care & Beauty median of 7.9%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -26.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Personal Care & Beauty medians

How Smartstyle Compares

Metric
Smartstyle
Category median
vs median
Investment
$260K
$402Kmiddle half $261K–$677K · n=112
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$527Kmiddle half $402K–$892K · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
911
40middle half 8–151 · n=111
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Personal Care & Beauty brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units911Verified — printed on page 62 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-26.2% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate18.8% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
911
Opened
5
Last reporting year
Closed
171
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
18.8%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-26.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-26.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
89
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
1,234
Franchised units
2023
1,077-157
Franchised units
2024
911-166
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 14 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 14 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

87 current owners across 11 states; 20 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • OK 32
  • IN 16
  • AR 10
  • AZ 7
  • MO 5
  • SC 5
  • CO 4
  • OH 3
  • TX 3
  • KY 1
  • MD 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 2.3% charge-off
Total loans
75
Loan volume
$42.1M
Median loan
$375K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
2.3%
on 75 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
97.7%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
17
Defaults
1
Typical loan rate
7.2%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
12.1%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
3,418
8.9 per loan
Lender concentration
33%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 18% went to startups / new businesses, 82% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in beauty salons, franchised businesses charge off at 12.1% vs 18.6% for independents — franchising is associated with 35% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Smartstyle charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Smartstyle charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 4 vintages from 2017 to 2020. Rates range from 0.0% to 20.0%.0%5%10%15%20%'17'18'19'20

Top lenders financing Smartstyle franchisees

Stearns Bank National Association22 loans5.9%
Live Oak Banking Company18 loans0.0%
BankUnited, National Association6 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 17 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Smartstyle from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.3%
Avg SBA guarantee
74%
Avg interest rate
7.17%
Avg chargeoff amount
$116K
Lender concentration
32.8%
Job velocity
8.9 per $100K
Startup risk premium
0.0pp
NAICS benchmark
10.9%
NAICS 812112
Jobs supported
3,418

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 33% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Stearns Bank National Association22$6.0M5.9%
2Live Oak Banking Company18$18.1M0.0%
3BankUnited, National Association6$3.1M0.0%
4The Huntington National Bank3$2.1M0.0%
5SouthState Bank, National Association3$3.2MN/A
6Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company2$115K0.0%
7First Merchants Bank2$869KN/A
8Truist Bank2$845K0.0%
9Lake Michigan CU2$1.4M0.0%
10Bank of America, National Association1$439K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
TXTexas1000.0%
FLFlorida800.0%
OHOhio8120.0%
AZArizona300.0%
GAGeorgia300.0%
INIndiana300.0%
MEMaine300.0%
NCNorth Carolina30--
NYNew York300.0%
TNTennessee300.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2017
5
2018
17
2019
19
2020
21
2021
3
2022
2

Borrower profile

Ownership change46 (74%)
Startup8 (13%)
Existing (2+ yr)4 (6%)
New (< 2 yr)3 (5%)
Unanswered1 (2%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 2.3% — 86% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off2.3% · 75 loans
Verdict score51/100 (higher is better)
Litigation16 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average51Verdict score 51/100

9 litigation matters (2015-2023) including a 2021 AAA award of $1,015,104.83 against affiliate Supercuts/Regis for FTC Rule and Virginia franchise-law violations plus misrepresentation counterclaims. Financials are very strong (net worth $185.6M, net income $123.5M) but the system is contracting sharply (-26.2%), Item 19 is not disclosed, and financial_distress is flagged.

High confidence±4 pts
4755

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Multiple AAA arbitrations/lawsuits 2015-2023, mostly franchisee collections matters with counterclaims alleging misrepresentation and state franchise act violations; one 2021 AAA award of $1,015,104.83 against Supercuts/Regis for FTC Rule and Virginia franchise law violations; a trade-secret suit by a POS vendor (ProPoint) against Regis settled via services agreement; a consumer data-privacy class action (Delamarter) settled for $285,000.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Grant Thornton LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $210.1MYr 2: $203.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 51 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGH9 litigation matters incl. $1,015,104.83 franchise-law award, misrepresentation/state-act counterclaims
  2. 02MINORSharp contraction net growth -26.2%
  3. 03MEDItem 19 not disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training10 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ6 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window10 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMinneapolis, Minnesota
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMinnesota
Litigation count16
View Item 3 litigation summary

Multiple AAA arbitrations/lawsuits 2015-2023, mostly franchisee collections matters with counterclaims alleging misrepresentation and state franchise act violations; one 2021 AAA award of $1,015,104.83 against Supercuts/Regis for FTC Rule and Virginia franchise law violations; a trade-secret suit by a POS vendor (ProPoint) against Regis settled via services agreement; a consumer data-privacy class action (Delamarter) settled for $285,000.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
10 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee proposes, Smartstyle approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Zenoti
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Zenoti

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

107 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 107 contacts · $49
Free preview
(918) 246-••••OK
Unlock all 107 contacts
(479) 478-••••AR
(936) 271-••••TX
(918) 473-••••OK
(843) 280-••••SC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Smartstyle franchise?

The total investment to open a Smartstyle franchise ranges from $184K – $336K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Smartstyle franchise owners earn?

Smartstyle makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Smartstyle?

Smartstyle is franchised by The Barbers, Hairstyling for Men & Women, Inc.. Its parent company is Regis Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Smartstyle FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Smartstyle FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Smartstyle's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Smartstyle has a charge-off rate of 2.3% across 75 loans, meaning 2.3% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Smartstyle franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Smartstyle has 911 total units in the United States, including 911 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Smartstyle a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Smartstyle as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 51 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Smartstyle, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Personal Care & Beauty franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Personal Care & Beauty category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.