Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Shrunk 3D logo

Shrunk 3D Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesSCFranchising since 2021
AStrongest tierStrongest tier83/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$187K – $267K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
0.0%
on 12 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02309FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Shrunk 3D is a novelty franchise operating scanning booths that 3D-scan people and objects at events and print them as detailed miniature figurines. Franchisees run the booths, managing event bookings, scans, and figurine orders.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Shrunk 3D franchise requires a total initial investment of $187K – $267K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 0.0% charge-off rate across 12 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$187K – $267K
53rd pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subsetProjection
Royalty
8.0%
33rd pct Business Serv…
Units
51
36th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
0.0%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$187K – $267K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $48K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $20K
Median $23K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
0.0%
12 loans · Median 11.8%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
51 units
Median 39 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
3.9%
Median 3.7%
near median
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $187K – $267K including a $50K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 discloses per-ORDER metrics, not whole-unit annual revenue. Table 1 (Average and Median Order Amount, Jan 1-Dec 31 2024, 45 franchised outlets): All Franchises average $279.80, median $270.69, high $460.12, low $189.32. "Order Amount" = average net sales revenue generated per order per outlet. Top-50% (22 outlets) avg $325.44; Bottom-50% (22 outlets) avg $234.58. Table 2 shows estimated gross margin percentages (All Franchises average 46.74%, median 47.43%). No per-unit annual revenue, unit count of events, or net income disclosed, so whole-unit gross sales cannot be derived. Data is per-order only (revenue-generating events); excludes e-commerce, reorders, and post-event sales.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 83/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 0.0% across 12 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +29 franchised outlets in the latest year (31 opened, 2 closed); 5 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 537.5% CAGR over 3 years with 51 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Shrunk 3D, Inc.
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer & Co-Founder
Zak Petersen
Incorporated in
South Carolina
HQ
2019 Cherry Hill Ln. A., North Charleston, SC 29405
Auditor
Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$6.4M
vs $3.0M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Zak Petersen
Headquarters
SC
Founded
2019
FDD year
2025
States available
23

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 71% above the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$187K – $267KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$49,900Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$5K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Shrunk 3D: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$5K$20K
Equipment, build-out, other$133K$197K
Total initial investment$187K$267K

Source: Shrunk 3D 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$187K – $267K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Shrunk 3D: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$250
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load10.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeper-transaction figures
Sample size45

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Shrunk 3D is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Shrunk 3D unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $187K–$267K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$240K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 discloses per-ORDER metrics, not whole-unit annual revenue. Table 1 (Average and Median Order Amount, Jan 1-Dec 31 2024, 45 franchised outlets): All Franchises average $279.80, median $270.69, high $460.12, low $189.32. "Order Amount" = average net sales revenue generated per order per outlet. Top-50% (22 outlets) avg $325.44; Bottom-50% (22 outlets) avg $234.58. Table 2 shows estimated gross margin percentages (All Franchises average 46.74%, median 47.43%). No per-unit annual revenue, unit count of events, or net income disclosed, so whole-unit gross sales cannot be derived. Data is per-order only (revenue-generating events); excludes e-commerce, reorders, and post-event sales.

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Reported per transaction, not per outlet

Item 19 type
per-transaction figures
Sample size
45
vs category median 37
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank53th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank33th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank36th
vs Business Services peers
Risk score rank3th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 296 Business Services brands

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% (near the Business Services median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports average and median order amount, and gross margin rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System expanding at 537.5% CAGR over 3 years across 51 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Shrunk 3D Compares

Metric
Shrunk 3D
Category median
vs median
Investment
$227K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
51
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units51Verified — printed on page 51 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growthOutlier (see FDD) (caution)
Turnover rate3.9% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
51
Opened
31
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Turnover rate
3.9%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transferred
1
Signed, not yet open
5
0.10 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
9
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
8
Franchised units
2023
22+14
Franchised units
2024
51+29
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 23 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

23

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 0.0% charge-off
Total loans
12
Loan volume
$1.9M
Median loan
$166K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
0.0%
on 12 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
100.0%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
5
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
11.1%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
12.3%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
37
2.0 per loan
Lender concentration
50%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 92% went to startups / new businesses, 8% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in commercial gravure printing, franchised businesses charge off at 12.3% vs 6.7% for independents — franchising is associated with 84% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Shrunk 3D franchisees

The Huntington National Bank6 loans0.0%
First Bank of the Lake3 loans—
Colorado Enterprise Fund1 loans—

Showing 3 of 5 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Shrunk 3D from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
70%
Avg interest rate
11.14%
Lender concentration
50.0%
Job velocity
2.0 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
20.4%
NAICS 323111
Jobs supported
37

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 50% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1The Huntington National Bank6$719K0.0%
2First Bank of the Lake3$691KN/A
3Colorado Enterprise Fund1$110KN/A
4Magnifi Financial CU1$174KN/A
5Readycap Lending, LLC1$157KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
TXTexas30--
FLFlorida200.0%
WIWisconsin20--
COColorado10--
KSKansas10--
NCNorth Carolina10--
SCSouth Carolina10--
TNTennessee10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2023
2
2024
10

Borrower profile

Startup11 (92%)
Unanswered1 (8%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

With a 0.0% charge-off rate across 12 loans, banks have historically viewed this brand favorably for lending.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 0.0% — 100% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off0.0% · 12 loans
Verdict score83/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier83Verdict score 83/100

No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern; audited financials with $6.4M revenue and 51 units growing rapidly (537.5% net growth). Franchisor net worth/net income not disclosed in the profile and avg gross sales figure ($280) looks anomalous. Missing equity data is the single concern.

High confidence±4 pts
7987

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Clark, Schaefer, Hackett & Co.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $6.4MYr 2: $3.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 83 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo litigation or bankruptcy
  2. 02MEDFranchisor net worth/net income not disclosed
  3. 03MINOR51 units, 537.5% net growth
  4. 04MEDAudited financials, Item 19 disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training16 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population70,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawSouth Carolina
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
10 hrs
On-the-job training
6 hrs
Site selection
Franchisee (home/office based); Booth locations require franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
QuickBooks online Essentials Plan
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: QuickBooks online Essentials Plan

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

60 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 60 contacts · $49
Free preview
619-862-••••
Unlock all 60 contacts
214-334-••••
512-751-••••
212-365-••••
321-334-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Shrunk 3D franchise?

The total investment to open a Shrunk 3D franchise ranges from $187K – $267K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Shrunk 3D franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Shrunk 3D FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Shrunk 3D?

Shrunk 3D is franchised by Shrunk 3D, Inc.. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Shrunk 3D FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Shrunk 3D FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Shrunk 3D's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Shrunk 3D has a charge-off rate of 0.0% across 12 loans, meaning 0.0% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Shrunk 3D franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Shrunk 3D has 51 total units in the United States, including 51 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 31 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Shrunk 3D a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Shrunk 3D as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 83 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Shrunk 3D, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.