Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Kwik Kopy logo

Kwik Kopy Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesUTFranchising since 2017
BAbove averageAbove average48/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$211K – $248K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 64 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01440FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Kwik Kopy is a B2B printing and marketing services franchise offering commercial printing, signs, and design. Franchisees run the centers, managing production, orders, and business client relationships.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Kwik Kopy franchise requires a total initial investment of $211K – $248K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$211K – $248K
55th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
21st pct Business Serv…
Units
28
27th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$211K – $248K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $48K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$65K – $80K
Median $23K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 64 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 64 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
28 units
Median 39 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
14.3%
Median 3.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $211K – $248K including a $25K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 48/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -4 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 4 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -20.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Fortusis, LLC
Parent company
Fortusis, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
International Center for Entrepreneurial Development, Inc. (ICED); Kwik Kopy Corporation; Kwik Kopy Business Centers, Inc.; Franklin's Systems, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Curtis D. Cheney
CEO experience
6 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Utah
HQ
4256 West 8370 South, West Jordan, Utah 84088-5907
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$462K
vs $644K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Curtis D. Cheney
Headquarters
UT
Founded
2015
FDD year
2025
States available
9

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 72% above the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$211K – $248KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$65K – $80K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Kwik Kopy: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$65K$80K
Equipment, build-out, other$121K$143K
Total initial investment$211K$248K

Source: Kwik Kopy 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$211K – $248K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$65K – $80K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
-n/d
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Kwik Kopy: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Training fee$16K
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$66K – $68K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Kwik Kopy makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Kwik Kopy unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $211K–$248K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $65K–$80K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$302K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% — below the Business Services median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -20.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Kwik Kopy Compares

Metric
Kwik Kopy
Category median
vs median
Investment
$229K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
28
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units28Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-20.0% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate14.3% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
28
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
4
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
2
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
14.3%
Company-owned
4
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
86%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-20.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-20.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
2
Transferred
0
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
85.7%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
7.1%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
14.3%
Units that stopped operating
2022
30
Franchised units
2023
28-2
Franchised units
2024
24-4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 3 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 3 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

4 current owners across 3 states.

  • AR 2
  • IL 1
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
64
Loan volume
$13.2M
Median loan
$206K
average
Charge-off rate
Limited · 64 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 64 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 64 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 64 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
37
Defaults
14
Typical loan rate
6.2%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
10%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Kwik Kopy charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Kwik Kopy charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 19 vintages from 1992 to 2015. Rates range from 0.0% to 100.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%75%80%85%90%95%100%'92'95'98'01'04'09'15

Top lenders financing Kwik Kopy franchisees

Wells Fargo Bank National Association6 loans33.3%
Bank of America, National Association6 loans0.0%
Comerica Bank3 loans66.7%

Showing 3 of 37 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Kwik Kopy from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Avg interest rate
6.15%
Lender concentration
10.3%

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 10% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Wells Fargo Bank National Association6$1.7M33.3%
2Bank of America, National Association6$840K0.0%
3Comerica Bank3$791K66.7%
4Synovus Bank3$700K0.0%
5Newtek Small Business Finance, Inc.2$381K0.0%
6JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association2$291K50.0%
7BMO Bank National Association2$222K0.0%
8PNC Bank, National Association2$265K0.0%
9PlainsCapital Bank2$450KN/A
10Synergy Bank2$400K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
TXTexas21527.8%
LALouisiana4125.0%
VAVirginia4125.0%
WIWisconsin41100.0%
AZArizona3133.3%
GAGeorgia300.0%
MAMassachusetts300.0%
ARArkansas200.0%
COColorado2150.0%
FLFlorida200.0%

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 64 loans
Verdict score48/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average48Verdict score 48/100

Kwik Kopy is a contracting print franchise with no financial transparency, unprotected territories, and structural headwinds from industry digitalization—HIGH RISK for new franchisees.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

High confidence±4 pts
4452

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.5MYr 2: $0.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 48 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDSevere unit decline of 14.3% YoY (28 units) indicates system contraction and potential franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosure (missing Item 19) prevents ROI validation and suggests weak unit economics
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; franchisees can cannibalize each other's sales
  4. 04MINORNo going concern status is concerning for a 15-year commitment in a contracting franchise system
  5. 05MINORDigital transformation of printing/copying industry fundamentally threatens print shop business model viability
  6. 06MED7% royalty on undisclosed revenue means true cost burden cannot be assessed
  7. 07MINOR$210k-$248k investment in declining print services sector with unproven return pathway

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term15 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training128 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term15 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window60 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationHarris County, Texas
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawTX
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
64 hrs
On-the-job training
64 hrs
Training location
Salt Lake City, Utah (designated training facility)
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
8 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

4 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 4 contacts · $49
Free preview
(713) 673-••••TX
Unlock all 4 contacts
(501) 847-••••AR
(870) 534-••••AR
(312) 407-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Kwik Kopy franchise?

The total investment to open a Kwik Kopy franchise ranges from $211K – $248K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Kwik Kopy franchise owners earn?

Kwik Kopy makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Kwik Kopy?

Kwik Kopy is franchised by Fortusis, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Kwik Kopy FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Kwik Kopy FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Kwik Kopy's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Kwik Kopy (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Kwik Kopy franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Kwik Kopy has 28 total units in the United States, including 24 franchised units and 4 company-owned units.

Is Kwik Kopy a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Kwik Kopy as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 48 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Kwik Kopy, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.