Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Sedona Taphouse logo

Sedona Taphouse Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsVAFranchising since 2014
BAbove averageAbove average63/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.7M – $2.5M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 11 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02273FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Sedona Taphouse is a full-service franchise pairing craft beer and wine with an American gastropub menu. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, bar, and dining service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Sedona Taphouse franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.7M – $2.5M, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$1.7M – $2.5M
37th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.5%
6th pct Service Resta…
Units
17
18th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.7M – $2.5M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$60K – $80K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.5%
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 11 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 11 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
17 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.7M – $2.5M including a $35K franchise fee, 4.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 63/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
DJB Franchising, LLC
Parent company
DJB Hospitality Holding Co., Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Sedona Taphouse, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and CEO
Dennis Barbaro
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
812 Moorefield Drive, Suite 301, Richmond, VA 23236
Auditor
Keiter
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.8M
vs $2.9M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Dennis Barbaro
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2011
FDD year
2025
States available
8

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 207% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.7M – $2.5MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty4.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$60K – $80K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown23 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$20K$35K
Pre-opening Trainer Payroll$20K$40K
Travel Expenses for Trainersnot refundable$2K$19K
Additional Initial Training (each person beyond four)$0$2K
Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$1.1M$1.7M
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment$225K$350K
Signage$16K$25K
Point of Sale System, Computers, Printers, Other Hardware and Business Softwarenot refundable$14K$20K
Small Wares$15K$30K
Inventory$50K$65K
Televisions$3K$5K
Menus$1K$2K
Decor Pictures$5K$8K
Prepaid Rent and Security Deposit$8K$20K
Miscellaneous Deposits$3K$10K
Travel, Living Expenses and Salaries During Initial Training$23K$36K
Opening Parties$6K$8K
Legal and Accounting Fees$4K$20K
Architect$18K$38K
Initial Advertising$5K$7K
Total initial investment$1.7M$2.5M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.7M – $2.5M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$60K – $80K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Sedona Taphouse: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.5% of gross sales
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$9K
Inventory (initial)$50K – $65K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Sedona Taphouse makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Sedona Taphouse unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.7M–$2.5M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $60K–$80K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$2.2M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 141 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 7.7% CAGR over 3 years across 17 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Sedona Taphouse Compares

Metric
Sedona Taphouse
Category median
vs median
Investment
$2.1M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
17
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units17Verified — printed on page 43 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+7.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
17
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
82%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+7.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+7.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.06 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
13
Franchised units
2023
13±0
Franchised units
2024
14+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

11 current owners across 7 states.

  • VA 3
  • KY 2
  • MI 2
  • CT 1
  • HI 1
  • NJ 1
  • NY 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
11
Loan volume
$12.9M
Median loan
$1.4M
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 11 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 11 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 11 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 11 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
6
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
7.0%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
13.2%
n=4,117 loans
Jobs supported
709
6.3 per loan
Lender concentration
38%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 100% went to startups / new businesses, 0% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in full-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 13.2% vs 9.7% for independents — franchising is associated with 36% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Sedona Taphouse franchisees

Brookline Bank, a Division of Beacon Bank and Trust3 loans0.0%
Truist Bank2 loans0.0%
Fifth Third Bank1 loans—

Showing 3 of 6 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Sedona Taphouse from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
75%
Avg interest rate
6.96%
Lender concentration
37.5%
Job velocity
6.3 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
7.4%
NAICS 722511
Jobs supported
709

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 38% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Brookline Bank, a Division of Beacon Bank and Trust3$4.6M0.0%
2Truist Bank2$2.6M0.0%
3Fifth Third Bank1$604KN/A
4Superior National Bank1$1.9M0.0%
5The Huntington National Bank1$1.4M0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
PAPennsylvania300.0%
MIMichigan200.0%
KYKentucky10--
TNTennessee10--
VAVirginia100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2015
1
2017
1
2018
4
2021
1
2024
1

Borrower profile

Startup5 (83%)
New (< 1 yr)1 (17%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 11 loans
Verdict score63/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average63Verdict score 63/100

17-unit restaurant franchisor with no litigation, no bankruptcy, and no going-concern issues. Positive 7.7% net growth and audited financials; the only concern is no Item 19 earnings disclosure.

High confidence±4 pts
5967

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Keiter

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.8MYr 2: $2.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 states audited financial statements of the franchisor, DJB Franchising, LLC (balance sheets as at Dec 31, 2024/2023/2022 and related statements of operations, members' equity and cash flows) are attached as Exhibit D. The Exhibit D statements are not present as machine-readable text in this file (scanned/image exhibit), so no balance-sheet or income figures could be extracted. State addenda note the franchisor 'has no fixed assets with which to support the franchise system.' Auditor/CPA firm name not present in extractable text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 63 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 earnings disclosure
  2. 02MINORNo litigation or bankruptcy
  3. 03MINORAudited financials, positive 7.7% net growth

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 141 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training452 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ6
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationRichmond, Virginia
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawVirginia
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
8 hrs
On-the-job training
444 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
80 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Site selection
franchisee, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

11 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 11 contacts · $49
Free preview
(434) 296-••••VA
Unlock all 11 contacts
(215) 668-••••MI
(859) 233-••••KY
(201) 739-••••NJ
(203) 299-••••CT

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Sedona Taphouse franchise?

The total investment to open a Sedona Taphouse franchise ranges from $1.7M – $2.5M, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Sedona Taphouse franchise owners earn?

Sedona Taphouse makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Sedona Taphouse?

Sedona Taphouse is franchised by DJB Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is DJB Hospitality Holding Co., Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Sedona Taphouse FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Sedona Taphouse FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Sedona Taphouse's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Sedona Taphouse (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Sedona Taphouse franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Sedona Taphouse has 17 total units in the United States, including 14 franchised units and 3 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Sedona Taphouse a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Sedona Taphouse as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 63 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Sedona Taphouse, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.