Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Schmackary’s logo

Schmackary’s Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsNJFranchising since 2022
CAverageAverage38/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$295K – $748K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02247FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Schmackary's is a bakery franchise known for gourmet cookies and indulgent baked treats. Franchisees run the shops, managing baking, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Schmackary’s franchise requires a total initial investment of $295K – $748K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2026 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - the current year's filing

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$295K – $748K
47th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Company-owned onlyn=1
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
4
18th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$295K – $748K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $35K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
4 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $295K – $748K including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 disclosed $2.3M from 1 affiliate-owned outlet — the only unit in the system. This reflects franchisor operations, not franchisee performance.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 38/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 does not yield a per-outlet annual revenue figure we can compare across brands. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Schmack Franchise, LLC
Ultimate parent
Cookie Keeper LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
CEO
Zachary Schmahl
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
6 Northland Lane, Aberdeen, New Jersey 07747
Auditor
Massood & Company, P.A.
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Zachary Schmahl
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
2022
FDD year
2026
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a quick-service restaurants franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$295K – $748KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$20K – $35K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$30K$30K
Your Training Expenses$3K$8K
Third Party Management/Leadership Training (McClaskey Excellence Institute or similar program)$1K$3K
Premises deposits$5K$30K
Rent - 3 months$16K$90K
Design and Architect Fees$5K$20K
On-Site Location Evaluation$0$500
Leasehold Improvements, Construction and/or Remodeling$75K$315K
Equipment, Furniture & Fixtures$100K$125K
Interior and Exterior Signage$10K$30K
Business Licenses and Permits$250$3K
Computer Systems$3K$8K
Computer Systems - Installation and Training$2K$3K
Initial Inventory to Begin Operating$5K$20K
Professional Fees$5K$7K
Grand Opening Advertising$15K$15K
Insurance$1K$5K
Additional Funds - 3 months$20K$35K
Total initial investment$295K$748K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$295K – $748K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Schmackary’s: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$200
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $20K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeAffiliate-owned outlet
Sample size1

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Schmackary’s is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Schmackary’s unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $295K–$748K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$35K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$549K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 disclosed $2.3M from 1 affiliate-owned outlet — the only unit in the system. This reflects franchisor operations, not franchisee performance.

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Based on a single reporting unit - not a system average

Item 19 type
Affiliate-owned outlet
Sample size
1
vs category median 19 · small
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2023
Transparency
6 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank47th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank48th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank18th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank84th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

Item 19 does not yield a per-outlet annual revenue figure we can compare across brands.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Schmackary’s Compares

Metric
Schmackary’s
Category median
vs median
Investment
$521K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
4
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units4Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 46 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
4
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.25 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
0
Franchised units
2024
1+1
Franchised units
2025
3+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • NY 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score38/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage38Verdict score 38/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
2551

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Massood & Company, P.A.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 38 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MED1 unit, 0 franchised, limited history
  2. 02MINORNo litigation or bankruptcy; audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training126 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice5 days
Termination groundsℹ25
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFranchisor's headquarters (mediation), then binding arbitration
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
16 hrs
On-the-job training
110 hrs
Training location
headquarters and/or affiliate-owned outlet
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
80 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
11 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee, subject to Franchisor approval of site selection criteria
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Not specified
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Not specified

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(646) 656-••••NY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Schmackary’s franchise?

The total investment to open a Schmackary’s franchise ranges from $295K – $748K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Schmackary’s franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Schmackary’s FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Schmackary’s?

Schmackary’s is franchised by Schmack Franchise, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Cookie Keeper LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Schmackary’s FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Schmackary’s FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Schmackary’s's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Schmackary’s (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Schmackary’s franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Schmackary’s has 4 total units in the United States, including 3 franchised units and 1 company-owned units.

Is Schmackary’s a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Schmackary’s as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 38 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Schmackary’s, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.