Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
PowerLift logo

PowerLift Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesSDFranchising since 2026
CAverageAverage38/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$2.3M – $3.3M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02017FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

PowerLift is a commercial door franchise selling, installing, and servicing heavy-duty hydraulic doors for hangars, businesses, and agricultural buildings. Franchisees run local operations, handling sales, installation, and service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A PowerLift franchise requires a total initial investment of $2.3M – $3.3M, including a $10K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2026. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$2.3M – $3.3M
89th pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
40
38th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$2.3M – $3.3M
Median $168K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $10K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $50K
Median $29K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 8.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
40 units
Median 47 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 4.3%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $2.3M – $3.3M including a $10K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 38/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -15.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
PowerLift Franchising, Inc.
Parent company
Patrick Holding Company
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Companies
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and President
Richard Peterson
Incorporated in
South Dakota
HQ
305 4th Street, Brookings, South Dakota 57006

Affiliated brands

  • Powerlift Door Consultants

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Richard Peterson
Headquarters
SD
Founded
2024
FDD year
2026
States available
30

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 1551% above the typical home services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$2.3M – $3.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$30K – $50K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown11 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$10K$10K
Travel and Living Expenses for Trainingnot refundable$7K$7K
Real Estatenot refundable$150K$150K
Building and Improvementsnot refundable$1.7M$1.7M
Equipmentnot refundable$220K$220K
Signsnot refundable$2K$20K
Opening Inventory of Productsnot refundable$56K$809K
Permits and Licensesnot refundable$120$500
Vehiclenot refundable$50K$190K
Insurancenot refundable$95K$150K
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$30K$50K
Total initial investment$2.3M$3.3M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$2.3M – $3.3M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
No royalty charge
Ad fund
$250.00 per pump purchased from us

Ongoing fees · Item 6

PowerLift: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)No royalty; franchisor profits from required Product purchases from franchisor/affiliate. Minimum Purchase Standards apply by contract year (escalating unit quotas).
Technology fee$1K
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$56K – $809K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

PowerLift makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one PowerLift unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $2.3M–$3.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$2.8M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -15.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How PowerLift Compares

Metric
PowerLift
Category median
vs median
Investment
$2.8M
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
40
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units40Verified — printed on page 50 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-15.2% (worth scrutinizing)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
40
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
98%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-15.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-15.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
5.1%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2023
46
Franchised units
2024
39-7
Franchised units
2025
39±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 30 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

30

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score38/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage38Verdict score 38/100
Low confidence±15 pts
2353

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

One concluded lawsuit against affiliate PDC by a former licensee alleging Franchise Investment Protection Act violations; dismissed with prejudice via stipulated order. No pending litigation, no franchisor-initiated litigation in past fiscal year.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

No audited financials on file

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 38 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MED1 concluded affiliate suit, dismissed with prejudice
  2. 02MINORUnaudited financials, no Item 19
  3. 03MINOR-15.2% net growth (40 units)

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term7 yrs
Renewal term7 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training54 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term7 years
Renewal term7 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory sizeℹMap/Zip Codes/Coordinates
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ4
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawSouth Dakota
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

One concluded lawsuit against affiliate PDC by a former licensee alleging Franchise Investment Protection Act violations; dismissed with prejudice via stipulated order. No pending litigation, no franchisor-initiated litigation in past fiscal year.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
38 hrs
On-the-job training
16 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
joint
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Flywheel CRM
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Flywheel CRM

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

29 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 29 contacts · $49
Free preview
406-892-••••
Unlock all 29 contacts
503-481-••••
419-615-••••
815-663-••••
563-777-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a PowerLift franchise?

The total investment to open a PowerLift franchise ranges from $2.3M – $3.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do PowerLift franchise owners earn?

PowerLift makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns PowerLift?

PowerLift is franchised by PowerLift Franchising, Inc.. Its parent company is Patrick Holding Company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the PowerLift FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the PowerLift FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is PowerLift's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for PowerLift (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many PowerLift franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, PowerLift has 40 total units in the United States, including 39 franchised units and 1 company-owned units.

Is PowerLift a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates PowerLift as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 38 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent PowerLift, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.