Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Pearle Vision logo

Pearle Vision Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

HealthcareOhioFranchising since 1980
AStrongest tierStrongest tier75/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$789K – $1.2M
Disclosed sales
$1.4M
gross sales, not profit
SBA charge-off
1.5%
on 103 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01910FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent91%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Pearle Vision is an eyecare-retail franchise pairing an optical store with an on-site eye doctor, selling glasses, sunglasses, and contacts. Franchisees run an EyeCare Center managing dispensing, an optional finishing lab, and the doctor relationship.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Pearle Vision franchise requires a total initial investment of $789K – $1.2M, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. Per the 2026 FDD, average unit revenue was $1.4M[2]. SBA 7(a) loans show a 1.5% charge-off rate across 103 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 6 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$789K – $1.2M
78th pct Healthcare
Avg gross sales
$1.4M
Outlet subsetNet sales22nd pct Healthcare
Royalty
7.0%
37th pct Healthcare
Units
484
77th pct Healthcare
SBA charge-off
1.5%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Healthcare · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$789K – $1.2M
Median $321K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$67K – $139K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
$1.4M
Median $676K
above median ↑, better than category
Outlet subsetNet sales
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
0.1% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
1.5%
103 loans · Median 2.6%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
484 units
Median 23 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
3.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
22 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Healthcare median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $789K – $1.2M including a $30K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSAverage unit revenue of $1.4M/year (reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system).
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 75/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 1.5% across 103 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -17 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 18 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • LEGAL22 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Of the 15 listed on this page, 13 name the franchisor itself, 2 its parent, affiliates or predecessor. Pending claims are allegations, not findings.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Luxottica of America Inc.
Parent company
EssilorLuxottica USA Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Luxottica Group S.p.A. / EssilorLuxottica S.A.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Luxottica Retail North America Inc. (f/k/a); successor to Pearle Vision, Inc./Lux MASALA LLC/LensCrafters, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President - North America, Retail Licensed Brands & Pearle Vision
Gunjan Kumar
Incorporated in
Ohio
HQ
4000 Luxottica Place, Mason, Ohio 45040
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers (inferred - not stated explicitly)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$165.1M
vs $151.6M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Gunjan Kumar
Headquarters
Ohio
Founded
1961
FDD year
2026
States available
36

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 214% above the typical healthcare franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$789K – $1.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 17 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$67K – $139K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Pearle Vision: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$67K$139K
Equipment, build-out, other$691K$1.1M
Total initial investment$789K$1.2M

Source: Pearle Vision 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$789K – $1.2M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$67K – $139K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
8.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
0.1%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Pearle Vision: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund8.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$400
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$33K – $70K
Total fee load0.1% of rev
Fee structure insight

A 0.1% total fee load is unusually lean. More of each revenue dollar stays with the franchisee.

What do units actually make?

Average unit sales run 113% above the healthcare norm.

Avg gross sales$1.4M

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Reported as net sales, not gross sales

Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typenet sales
Sample size169 outlets

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

Single-unit · not modelled

Returns at a glance

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit, and the operating costs that turn one into the other are in no filing. We publish no modelled return for Pearle Vision until someone supplies them — yours, in the models below.

—

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

Total invested capital · disclosed

$1.1M

Item 7 initial investment plus working capital, as filed — the one figure here that needs no assumption.

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

What one unit earns on your invested capital

Model A · Single-Unit Return

Computes unlevered return on invested capital (ROIC) for a single franchise unit, read against the 30–60% reference band · Yale SOM, Post-MBA Path Exhibit 2 (2023). Below that band a passive index fund likely outperforms; above it the franchisor has pricing power you're subsidizing.

Note: Item 19 revenue is what the franchisor discloses, and it is the top line only — gross sales are not profit. No FDD discloses the operating costs that turn one into the other, so those fields start empty and nothing is modelled until you supply them from your own lease quote, labor market and build-out budget.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Pearle Vision unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearFDD
FDD Item 19 reports $1,437,000 per unit — Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system. Adjust to a franchisee figure before relying on this.
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $789K–$1.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $67K–$139K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.1M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

What 25 units return when you use SBA financing

Model B · Return on Equity: Debt-Financed Acquisition

Models a 25-unit portfolio acquisition financed with an SBA 7(a) loan. Shows equity IRR (your return on cash invested), DSCR (how safely the cash flow covers debt service), and the capital stack (SBA + seller + equity breakdown).

This is the “search fund” or “entrepreneurship through acquisition” scenario: you buy an existing multi-unit operator, use leverage to amplify returns, and either operate or hire management. The 25-unit size is the typical minimum for an SBA-backed franchise portfolio acquisition to pencil as a full-time income.

What “return on equity” means here: if you put in $500K of your own cash and the business generates enough EBITDA to pay down debt and grow, your equity IRR is the annual return on that $500K, including the value created when you eventually sell. Target IRR for a search fund is typically 25–35%.

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

A 25-unit return is built on a per-unit EBITDA. Fill in the operating costs in Model A above and this model runs on that figure, or take the whole scenario to the full ROI workbench, where the portfolio and LBO models accept your own per-unit economics directly.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Reported as net sales, not gross sales

Avg gross sales
$1.4M
Per unit, per year

Gross sales are revenue before expenses — not profit. Actual owner earnings depend on rent, labor, royalties, marketing fees, and debt service.

Item 19 type
net sales
Sample size
169 outlets
vs category median 20 · large
Quartile band
$618K→$2.6M
Bottom 25% → top 25%
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Transparency
10 / 10
vs category median 3 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank22th
Item 19 reporting methods vary across brands
Investment cost rank78th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank37th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank77th
vs Healthcare peers
Risk score rank7th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 162 Healthcare brands

Showing the headline figures — all 158 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Unit economics

Average unit generates $1.4M/year in gross sales. Revenue-to-investment ratio: 1.4x. Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 0.1% — below the Healthcare median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

Transparency score 10/10 — this franchisor discloses detailed breakdowns (quartiles, segments, or cohort data). Buyers can model unit economics with higher confidence.

Operator retention

System contracting at -6.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Healthcare medians

How Pearle Vision Compares

Metric
Pearle Vision
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.0M
$321Kmiddle half $178K–$530K · n=133
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
$1.4M
$676Kmiddle half $496K–$929K · n=48
Above median, better than category
Unit Count
484
23middle half 5–101 · n=132
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Healthcare brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units484Verified — printed on page 82 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-6.2% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate3.5% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
484
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
18
Terminated
3
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
12
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.5%
Company-owned
60
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
88%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-6.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-6.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
3
Not renewed
12
Transferred
11
Reacquired
3
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
9
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
445
Franchised units
2024
441-4
Franchised units
2025
424-17
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 14 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 14 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

25 current owners across 14 states.

  • IL 3
  • MI 3
  • NY 3
  • MN 2
  • OH 2
  • PA 2
  • TX 2
  • WI 2
  • AL 1
  • CA 1
  • FL 1
  • MA 1
  • +2 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 1.5% charge-off
Total loans
103
Loan volume
$49.3M
Median loan
$350K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
1.5%
on 103 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
98.5%
5-yr charge-off
33.3%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
45
Defaults
1
Typical loan rate
6.7%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
12.0%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
807
1.6 per loan
Lender concentration
12%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 58% went to startups / new businesses, 42% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in optical goods stores, franchised businesses charge off at 12.0% vs 15.9% for independents — franchising is associated with 25% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Pearle Vision charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Pearle Vision charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 8 vintages from 2012 to 2020. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'12'15'17'19'20

Top lenders financing Pearle Vision franchisees

Stearns Bank National Association12 loans0.0%
United Community Bank10 loans0.0%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association8 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 45 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$88K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
2

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Pearle Vision from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
1.2%
Avg SBA guarantee
73%
Avg interest rate
6.65%
Avg chargeoff amount
$598K
Lender concentration
11.7%
Job velocity
1.6 per $100K
Startup risk premium
+5.9pp
NAICS benchmark
1.5%
NAICS 446130
Jobs supported
807

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 12% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Stearns Bank National Association12$4.9M0.0%
2United Community Bank10$5.0M0.0%
3Wells Fargo Bank National Association8$4.0M0.0%
4BancFirst7$2.7M0.0%
5TD Bank, National Association6$4.6M0.0%
6The Huntington National Bank4$786K0.0%
7U.S. Bank, National Association3$2.7M0.0%
8The Bancorp Bank National Association3$2.7M50.0%
9Meridian Bank3$1.1MN/A
10First National Bank of Omaha2$269K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
MNMinnesota1200.0%
FLFlorida1100.0%
OKOklahoma800.0%
PAPennsylvania800.0%
ILIllinois700.0%
TXTexas700.0%
COColorado600.0%
CACalifornia5125.0%
MAMassachusetts500.0%
NENebraska400.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2012
3
2014
10
2015
9
2016
12
2017
9
2018
11
2019
11
2020
14
2021
7
2022
4
2023
6
2024
5
2025
2

Borrower profile

Startup31 (52%)
Existing (2+ yr)14 (23%)
Ownership change9 (15%)
New (< 2 yr)4 (7%)
Unanswered2 (3%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

With a 1.5% charge-off rate across 103 loans, banks have historically viewed this brand favorably for lending.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 1.5% — 91% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off1.5% · 103 loans
Verdict score75/100 (higher is better)
Litigation22 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier75Verdict score 75/100
High confidence±4 pts
7179

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Franchisor and affiliates are defendants in several consumer class actions (Meta/Ray-Ban smart-glasses privacy suits, LensCrafters/Sunglass Hut pricing and cookie-tracking suits, antitrust suits re: eyewear and 1-800 Contacts), a franchisee antitrust/breach-of-contract suit (Brave Optical), and other matters; franchisor was also plaintiff in a trademark/non-compete enforcement suit against former franchisees (Gray/Brave Optical) and a post-termination suit against a former franchisee (Safir). No bankruptcies disclosed. Historical litigation includes a 2002 California AG action against predecessor Cole National/Pearle Vision entities.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers (inferred - not stated explicitly)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $165.1MYr 2: $151.6MNon-royalty: $10.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 75 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-1.6% YoY) indicates contracting franchise system with 503 units
  2. 02HIGHMultiple serious litigation issues including antitrust, data breach, false advertising, and franchisee fraud allegations suggest systemic operational and compliance problems
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk and cannibalization between franchisees
  4. 04MINOR7% royalty on gross revenues (not net) means royalties paid even during unprofitable periods
  5. 05HIGHLitigation history includes fraud allegations against franchisor toward franchisees, indicating potential relationship deterioration

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 158 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail22 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Pending (13)

  • Aimee Stearns, et al. Meta Platforms, Inc., Samasource Impact Sourcing Inc., and Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2026-03-13 · Norther District of California · 3:26-cv-2237

    “Aimee Stearns, et al. Meta Platforms, Inc., Samasource Impact Sourcing Inc., and Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 3:26-cv-2237, Norther District of California (filed March 13, 2026)”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Arsham Kosari, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc., Samasource Impact Sourcing Inc., and Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2026-03-09 · Norther District of California · 3:26-cv-2022

    “Arsham Kosari, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc., Samasource Impact Sourcing Inc., and Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 3:26-cv-2022, Norther District of California (filed March 9, 2026)”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Gina Bartone and Mateo Canu, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc. and Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2026-03-04 · Norther District of California · 3:26-cv-01897

    “Gina Bartone and Mateo Canu, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc. and Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 3:26-cv-01897, Norther District of California (filed March 4, 2026)”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“We were served March 9, 2026, in the Gina Bartone matter and March 11, 2026, in the Peter Tittl matter. We will timely file a responsive pleading.”

  • Nicolas Tejada, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc., Samasource Impact Sourcing Inc., and Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2026-03-09 · Norther District of California · 3:26-cv-2015

    “Nicolas Tejada, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc., Samasource Impact Sourcing Inc., and Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 3:26-cv-2015, Norther District of California (filed March 9, 2026)”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Peter Canady, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc. and Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2026-03-11 · Norther District of California · 3:26-cv-2118

    “Peter Canady, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc. and Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 3:26-cv-2118, Norther District of California (filed March 11, 2026)”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Peter Tittl, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc. and Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2026-03-08 · Norther District of California · 3:26-cv-1992

    “Peter Tittl, et al. v. Meta Platforms, Inc. and Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 3:26-cv-1992, Norther District of California (filed March 8, 2026)”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Brandon Moore, Daniel Aldana, and Hope Kambick v. Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2025-12-19 · Northern District of California · 3:25cv10840

    “Brandon Moore, Daniel Aldana, and Hope Kambick v. Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 3:25cv10840, Northern District of California (filed December 19, 2025).”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“We were served on December 23, 2025, and we will timely file a responsive pleading.”

  • Serena Cody v. EssilorLuxottica USA Inc., EssilorOperating LLC, Luxottica of America Inc. d/b/a LensCrafters, Corte, OD, PLLC g/k/a Corte and Wruble, OD PLLC d/b/a Northlake Eye, Rachel Wruble, OD, Ryan Corte, OD, Stefanos Kotsokalis, OD, and Remi Adams

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2025 · North Carolina, Superior Court of Mecklenburg County · 25cv45609-590

    “Serena Cody v. EssilorLuxottica USA Inc., EssilorOperating LLC, Luxottica of America Inc. d/b/a LensCrafters, Corte, OD, PLLC g/k/a Corte and Wruble, OD PLLC d/b/a Northlake Eye, Rachel Wruble, OD, Ryan Corte, OD, Stefanos Kotsokalis, OD, and Remi Adams, Case No. 25cv45609-590, North Carolina, Superior Court of Mecklenburg County (filed August 2025).”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Dionte Bradley v. Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2024 · Southern District of Ohio · 26-cv-175

    “Dionte Bradley v. Luxottica of America Inc., Civil Action No. 26-cv-175, Southern District of Ohio (originally filed December 19, 2024, but subsequently transferred to Ohio and given a new case number).”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“In April 2025, we filed a motion to transfer the case from California to Ohio, which was granted, and the case was transferred to the Southern District of Ohio. We are preparing to file a motion to dismiss.”

  • Dr. Emil Fadel, et al. v. EssilorLuxottica S.A., Luxottica Groups SPA, Luxottica of America Inc., Dr. Ashley K. Garcia, Tuan T. Hyunh, Modern Optometry PLLC

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2024-12-31 · Texas District Court, Bexar County · 2024CI28969

    “Dr. Emil Fadel, et al. v. EssilorLuxottica S.A., Luxottica Groups SPA, Luxottica of America Inc., Dr. Ashley K. Garcia, Tuan T. Hyunh, Modern Optometry PLLC, Cause No.2024CI28969, Texas District Court, Bexar County (filed December 31, 2024). This lawsuit does not involve the Pearle Vision brand or the Pearle Vision franchise. The plaintiff, a former LensCrafters subleasee, alleges”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Counterclaims have been asserted against Dr. Emil Fadel, Eye Pro, Inc., Eye Pro, LLC, and Lauren Eye Group, LLC for breach of contract. Parties are engaged in discovery.” (page 14)

  • Melissa Velasquez v. Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2024-12-02 · California Superior Court, Los Angeles County · 24STCV31555

    “Melissa Velasquez v. Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 24STCV31555, California Superior Court, Los Angeles County (filed December 2, 2024).”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“We removed the case to the Central District of California on January 3, 2025. Plaintiffs filed a motion to remand, which we opposed. The dispute is currently pending before an appellate court.”

  • Brave Optical, Inc., et al. v. Luxottica of America Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2023-12-04 · United States District Court, Southern District of Ohio · 1:23cv793

    “Brave Optical, Inc., et al. v. Luxottica of America Inc., Case No. 1:23cv793, United States District Court, Southern District of Ohio (filed December 4, 2023). Plaintiffs are two former Pearle Vision franchisees who alleged that the Company’s franchise agreements violate Section 1 and 3 of the Sherman Antitrust Act.”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Amended Complaint as required, Brave Optical filed a motion for extension of time on March 13, 2026, which we will oppose.” (page 15)

  • Jeffrey Gray, Dawn Gray, and Brave Optical, Inc. v. Gutman Vision, Inc., Alex Gutman and Milana Gutman, Luxottica of America, Inc., f/k/a Luxottica Retail North America, Inc., and EyeMed Vision Care, LLC.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2019 · District Court of 101st Judicial District Dallas County · dc-17-07929

    “Jeffrey Gray, Dawn Gray, and Brave Optical, Inc. v. Gutman Vision, Inc., Alex Gutman and Milana Gutman, Luxottica of America, Inc., f/k/a Luxottica Retail North America, Inc., and EyeMed Vision Care, LLC. Cause No. dc-17-07929 District Court of 101st Judicial District Dallas County (filed March 19, 2019 as to LOA and EyeMed).”Page 15 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The parties are now awaiting further action by the district court to carry out the Texas Supreme Court’s remand order.”

Parent, affiliates and predecessor

Pending (2)

  • In re Eyewear Antitrust Litigation

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · EssilorLuxottica and related entities (the filing calls the motion 'our motion to dismiss') · filed 2024-08-06 · United States District Court, Southern District of New York · 1:24-cv-04826

    “In re Eyewear Antitrust Litigation, Case No. 1:24-cv-04826, United States District Court, Southern District of New York (filed on August 6, 2024). Antitrust class actions were transferred from Minnesota to New York and consolidated complaints were filed on August 6, 2024, by the Direct Purchaser and the Indirect Purchaser Plaintiffs.”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The Court granted our motion to dismiss on September 26, 2025. The direct purchaser class filed a stipulation of dismissal with prejudice on October 17, 2025. The indirect purchaser class filed an appeal with the Second Circuit on November 7, 2025. Plaintiff filed their brief on January 7, 2026, and our response is due February 11, 2026.”

  • Renee Newton v. Luxottica Group S.p.A. et al

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Luxottica Group S.p.A. (Item 1: EL USA is an indirect majority owned subsidiary of Luxottica Group S.p.A.) · filed 2024-08-02 · United States District Court, Southern District of New York · 1:24-cv-05907

    “Renee Newton v. Luxottica Group S.p.A. et al, Case No. 1:24-cv-05907, United States District Court, Southern District of New York (filed on August 2, 2024). This is an antitrust class action. We have not been served.”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

This list shows 15 of the 22 matters Item 3 discloses; the rest are in the filing.

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 0.1% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training80 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ3 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ12
Curable defaultsℹ7
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationOhio (non-binding mediation; litigation in Southern District of Ohio)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawOhio
Litigation count22
View Item 3 litigation summary

Franchisor and affiliates are defendants in several consumer class actions (Meta/Ray-Ban smart-glasses privacy suits, LensCrafters/Sunglass Hut pricing and cookie-tracking suits, antitrust suits re: eyewear and 1-800 Contacts), a franchisee antitrust/breach-of-contract suit (Brave Optical), and other matters; franchisor was also plaintiff in a trademark/non-compete enforcement suit against former franchisees (Gray/Brave Optical) and a post-termination suit against a former franchisee (Safir). No bankruptcies disclosed. Historical litigation includes a 2002 California AG action against predecessor Cole National/Pearle Vision entities.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
56 hrs
Training location
EyeCare Center and/or Virtual
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
both
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
AcuityLogic (transitioning to VisionX in 2026)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: AcuityLogic (transitioning to VisionX in 2026)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

25 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 25 contacts · $49
Free preview
(925) 718-••••CA
Unlock all 25 contacts
(978) 649-••••MA
(301) 490-••••MD
(847) 540-••••IL
(847) 459-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Pearle Vision franchise?

The total investment to open a Pearle Vision franchise ranges from $789K – $1.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Pearle Vision franchise owners earn?

According to Item 19 of the Pearle Vision FDD, the average gross sales per unit is $1.4M. Important context: Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system; Reported as net sales, not gross sales. Note: this is gross revenue, not profit. Actual owner earnings vary based on location, operating costs, and management.

Who owns Pearle Vision?

Pearle Vision is franchised by Luxottica of America Inc.. Its parent company is EssilorLuxottica USA Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Luxottica Group S.p.A. / EssilorLuxottica S.A.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Pearle Vision FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Pearle Vision FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Pearle Vision's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Pearle Vision has a charge-off rate of 1.5% across 103 loans, meaning 1.5% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Pearle Vision franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Pearle Vision has 484 total units in the United States, including 424 franchised units and 60 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Pearle Vision a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Pearle Vision as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 75 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Pearle Vision, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Healthcare franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Healthcare category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.