Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Patio Patrol logo

Patio Patrol Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesMAFranchising since 2018
BAbove averageAbove average51/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$75K – $170K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01898Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Patio Patrol is a home services franchise providing patio, deck, and outdoor-surface cleaning and restoration. Franchisees run route-based operations, managing crews, scheduling, and customer accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Patio Patrol franchise requires a total initial investment of $75K – $170K, including a $20K – $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$75K – $170K
17th pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
48th pct Home Services
Units
7
14th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$75K – $170K
Median $168K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$20K – $35K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $10K
Median $29K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
7 units
Median 47 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
28.6%
Median 4.3%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $75K – $170K including a $20K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 51/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 2 closed); 6 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
FlyFoe, LLC
Parent company
Threshold Brands, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2023 FDD
Ultimate parent
HS Group Holding Company, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2023 FDD
Predecessor
FlyFoe (trade name used until July 2022)
Prior franchisor entity
Incorporated in
MA
HQ
77 North Washington Street, 3rd Floor, Boston, MA 02114
Auditor
Not named in text (Detroit, Michigan firm)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$52.2M
vs $36.9M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

10 other brands on this site name HS Group Holding Company, LLC as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2023 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

Headquarters
MA
Founded
2017
FDD year
2023
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 27% below the typical home services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$75K – $170KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2023 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$20,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$3K – $10K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$20K$35K
Travel and Living Expenses while Training$2K$3K
Tools & Equipment$4K$5K
Search Engine Optimization Services$2K$2K
Office Equipment & Licensing$2K$22K
Vehicle w/customization & wrap$4K$45K
Trade show booth$3K$4K
Real Estate$0$5K
Initial Local Advertising$35K$35K
Professional fees$1K$3K
Insurance - 3 Months$500$3K
Additional funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$3K$10K
Total initial investment$75K$170K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$75K – $170K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$20K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Patio Patrol: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Technology fee$275
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$9K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Patio Patrol makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Patio Patrol unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $75K–$170K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$10K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$129K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% (near the Home Services median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth roughly flat at 0.0%.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How Patio Patrol Compares

Metric
Patio Patrol
Category median
vs median
Investment
$122K
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
7
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units7Verified — printed on page 42 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%
Turnover rate28.6% (caution)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
7
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
28.6%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
6
0.86 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
12
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
28.6%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
28.6%
Units that stopped operating
2020
7
Franchised units
2021
8+1
Franchised units
2022
7-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

10 current owners across 7 states.

  • MA 2
  • MO 2
  • TX 2
  • AL 1
  • NJ 1
  • PA 1
  • SC 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score51/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average51Verdict score 51/100
Low confidence±19 pts
3270

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Not named in text (Detroit, Michigan firm)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $52.2MYr 2: $36.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 financial statements are the audited CONSOLIDATED statements of the parent/guarantor, HS Group Holding Company, LLC and Subsidiaries d/b/a Threshold Brands (FYE Dec 31, 2022); the franchisor FlyFoe, LLC d/b/a Patio Patrol does not present standalone audited income statements (only a pre-acquisition balance sheet as of Aug 12, 2020). Total revenues: 2022 $52,236,793 (recurring $49,952,460 + franchise fee $2,284,333); 2021 $36,881,748. Net loss 2022 $(14,272,438). Auditor report dated March 29, 2023, Detroit, Michigan; CPA firm name not present in extracted text.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 51 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDFranchise system shrinking: 7 units with -12.5% YoY decline indicates deteriorating franchisee success or retention
  2. 02MINORNo financial disclosure: Franchisor refuses to disclose average unit revenue or net income (Item 19), preventing ROI validation
  3. 03MEDHigh initial investment ($74.5K-$169.5K) with no disclosed revenue benchmarks creates unpredictable payback period
  4. 04MINORRoyalty floor of $600/month creates fixed cost burden even for underperforming units
  5. 05MINORExtremely small franchise network (7 units) limits peer validation and suggests weak market traction

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training198 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population35,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationAAA office closest to franchisor (Boston, MA)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
185 hrs
On-the-job training
13 hrs
Training location
Boston, MA (in-person); remote/virtual (self-paced)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

10 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 10 contacts · $49
Free preview
(617) 742-••••MA
Unlock all 10 contacts
(617) 977-••••MA
(361) 600-••••TX
(417) 720-••••MO
(610) 628-••••PA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Patio Patrol franchise?

The total investment to open a Patio Patrol franchise ranges from $75K – $170K, with an initial franchise fee of $20K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Patio Patrol franchise owners earn?

Patio Patrol makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Patio Patrol?

Patio Patrol is franchised by FlyFoe, LLC. Its parent company is Threshold Brands, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is HS Group Holding Company, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Patio Patrol FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Patio Patrol FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Patio Patrol's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Patio Patrol (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Patio Patrol franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Patio Patrol has 7 total units in the United States, including 7 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Patio Patrol a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Patio Patrol as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 51 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Patio Patrol, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.