Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
MHO Hotels logo

MHO Hotels Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingNJFranchising since 2021
CAverageAverage41/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$72K – $1.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01621FDD 2025Data QualityStandard67%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

MHO Hotels is a hotel franchise operating midscale lodging properties. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing front desk, housekeeping, and revenue under brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A MHO Hotels franchise requires a total initial investment of $72K – $1.2M, including a $10K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$72K – $1.2M
2nd pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Flat fee
Units
4
14th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$72K – $1.2M
Median $8.9M
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $10K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $300K
Median $312K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.0%
Ongoing Fees
31.9% of rev
Median 8.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
4 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $72K – $1.2M including a $10K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Membership Hotel Organization LLC
CEO title
President and CEO
Mahendra Patel
Incorporated in
NJ
HQ
187 Route 130, Bordentown, New Jersey 08505
Auditor
Sai CPA Services
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$25K
vs $31K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Mahendra Patel
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
2020
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 93% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$72K – $1.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$9,995Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltyFlat fee
Ad fund5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$50K – $300K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

MHO Hotels: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$10K$10K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$50K$300K
Equipment, build-out, other$12K$935K
Total initial investment$72K$1.2M

Source: MHO Hotels 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$72K – $1.2M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $300K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$26.95 per room per month (per-room option) OR $2.00 per …
Ad fund
5.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
31.9%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

MHO Hotels: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)Two options: (i) $26.95 per room per month, or (ii) $2.00 per occupied room per night
Marketing / ad fund5.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$26
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$100 – $5K
Total fee load31.9% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

MHO Hotels makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one MHO Hotels unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $72K–$1.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$300K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$833K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 117 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 31.9% — above the Lodging median of 8.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth roughly flat at 0.0%.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How MHO Hotels Compares

Metric
MHO Hotels
Category median
vs median
Investment
$658K
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
4
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units4Verified — printed on page 40 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
4
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
75%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
7
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
3
Franchised units
2023
3±0
Franchised units
2024
3±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

0 current owners across 0 states; 2 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

    Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

    SBA loan performance

    Government records

    SBA Loan Data

    Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 2 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

    Total loans
    2
    Loan volume
    $1.9M
    Median loan
    $928K
    average
    Charge-off rate
    Under 10 loans (2)
    Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10

    Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

    Repayment rate (PIF)
    Under 10 loans (2)
    5-yr charge-off
    Under 10 loans (2)
    Loans approved 2021+
    Active lenders
    0
    Defaults
    N/A

    Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

    What could kill this investment?

    SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (2)
    Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
    Litigation0 cases
    Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

    Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

    Risk analysis

    FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

    Risk & Legal

    CAverage41Verdict score 41/100

    MHO Hotels presents HIGH RISK due to a 4-unit system with no growth trajectory, missing financial disclosures, false going concern status, unprotected territory, and inadequate royalty/fee transparency—typical of early-stage or distressed franchise systems.

    Moderate confidence±13 pts
    2854

    Litigation (Item 3)

    Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

    0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

    Bankruptcy (Item 4)

    None disclosed

    Audited financials (Item 21)

    Yes · Sai CPA Services

    Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

    Yr 1: $0.0MYr 2: $0.0M

    Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

    The provided page images (p193-p198) contain Exhibit H (Franchise Disclosure Questionnaire), Exhibit I (State Effective Dates), and Exhibit J (Receipts) for Membership Hotel Organization LLC, MHO/FDD/2025v1, issuance date April 4, 2025. No audited financial statements (Exhibit B / Item 21), no balance sheet, no income statement, and no Independent Auditor's Report appear in this folder. All financial figures are therefore null.

    Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

    • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
    • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
    • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
    • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
    • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

    Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

    1. 01MINOROnly 4 units in system with unknown/likely stagnant growth indicates minimal market traction and unproven model scalability
    2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (no Item 19) prevents validation of ROI claims and profitability assumptions
    3. 03MINORNo protected territory creates direct competition risk between franchisees and leaves door open for brand saturation
    4. 04MINORDual royalty options without guidance on which is standard/recommended suggests lack of transparent pricing strategy
    5. 05MINORExtremely low franchise fee ($9,995) relative to hotel capex may indicate weak corporate infrastructure and minimal franchisor support

    Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

    Showing the headline figures — all 117 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

    What are you signing up for?

    Ongoing fees run about 31.9% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

    Initial term10 yrs
    Renewal term5 yrs
    TerritoryNone (caution)
    Initial training58 hrs

    Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

    FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

    Contract & Territory Detail

    Initial term10 years
    Renewal term5 years
    Allowed renewalsℹ1
    Territory typeNo territory protection
    Protected territoryNo
    Exclusive territoryℹNo
    Territory population2,000,000
    Online sales rightsRestricted
    Franchisor can competeYes
    Hire a manager?Allowed
    Owner-operatorOptional
    Right of first refusalℹYes
    RoFR response window30 days
    Transfer requires consentYes
    Termination notice30 days
    Termination groundsℹ1
    Curable defaultsℹ3
    Mandatory arbitrationYes
    Arbitration locationBordentown, New Jersey (principal city closest to franchisor's principal place of business)
    Jury trial waiverYes
    Governing lawNJ
    Litigation count0
    View Item 3 litigation summary

    0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

    Items 10, 11

    Training & Operations

    Classroom training
    29 hrs
    On-the-job training
    0 hrs
    Training location
    Virtual (online)
    Ongoing training
    Required
    Time to open
    2 mo
    From signing to launch
    Franchisor financing
    Not offered
    Item 10
    POS system
    Stayflexi
    Operating tech stack

    Items 5 & 11

    Franchisor Support

    ✓Site selection assistance
    ✗Grand opening support
    ✗Lease negotiation help

    Technology: Stayflexi

    Item 20 · call current owners

    Franchisee Contacts

    2 owners to call

    Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

    Unlock 2 contacts · $49

    Frequently asked questions

    Frequently Asked Questions

    How much does it cost to open a MHO Hotels franchise?

    The total investment to open a MHO Hotels franchise ranges from $72K – $1.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

    What do MHO Hotels franchise owners earn?

    MHO Hotels makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

    Who owns MHO Hotels?

    MHO Hotels is franchised by Membership Hotel Organization LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

    What is Item 19 in the MHO Hotels FDD?

    The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the MHO Hotels FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

    What is MHO Hotels's franchise failure rate?

    SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for MHO Hotels (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

    How many MHO Hotels franchise locations are there?

    As of their most recent FDD filing, MHO Hotels has 4 total units in the United States, including 3 franchised units and 1 company-owned units.

    Is MHO Hotels a good franchise to buy?

    FranchiseVerdict rates MHO Hotels as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

    Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

    For franchisors

    Are you the franchisor?

    If you represent MHO Hotels, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

    Other Lodging franchises

    Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

    Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.