Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Matchbox logo

Matchbox Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsVAFranchising since 2020
BAbove averageAbove average49/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.1M – $2.3M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01585Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Matchbox is a casual-dining franchise serving wood-fired pizza, mini burgers, and chef-driven entrees with craft beer and cocktails. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, bar, and dining service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Matchbox franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.1M – $2.3M, including a $60K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$1.1M – $2.3M
34th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
25th pct Service Resta…
Units
13
16th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.1M – $2.3M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$60K – $60K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $100K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
13 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.1M – $2.3M including a $60K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 49/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGBankruptcy history disclosed in the FDD. Review Item 4 for details before proceeding.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
TH Matchbox Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Thompson Matchbox Ventures, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
Thompson Hospitality Corp.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2024 FDD
Predecessor
Matchbox Food Group, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Operating Officer
Alex Berentzen
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
1741 Business Center Drive, Suite 200, Reston, Virginia 20190
Auditor
BDO USA, P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$83K
vs $86K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Alex Berentzen
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2003
FDD year
2024
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 151% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.1M – $2.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$60,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$50K – $100K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$60K$60K
Travel Expenses to Attend Training$1K$10K
Rent$35K$75K
Build-Out/Construction$788K$1.6M
Fixture Package$100K$300K
Initial Inventory$20K$30K
Signage$10K$30K
Computer Hardware, Software, and POS System$8K$18K
Insurance$5K$10K
Licenses, Permits$5K$8K
Grand Opening Campaign$5K$20K
Legal & Accounting$4K$8K
Miscellaneous Opening Costs$10K$15K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$50K$100K
Total initial investment$1.1M$2.3M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.1M – $2.3M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$60K – $60K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Matchbox: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$25
Inventory (initial)$20K – $30K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Matchbox makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Matchbox unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.1M–$2.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.8M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 149 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 13 units.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Matchbox Compares

Metric
Matchbox
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.7M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
13
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units13Verified — printed on page 39 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
13
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
12
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
8%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
100.0%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
7.7%
Units that stopped operating
2021
1
Franchised units
2022
1±0
Franchised units
2023
1±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • VA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$300K
Median loan
$300K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score49/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average49Verdict score 49/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
3662

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation information required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: the company or an affiliate. Disclosed (Item 4 covers the last 10 years)

Predecessor Matchbox Food Group, LLC filed Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition on August 3, 2020 in U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Maryland (Greenbelt), Case #20-17250. Plan of liquidation confirmed March 9, 2021, effective March 18, 2021. THC (ultimate parent) acquired assets out of bankruptcy on November 16, 2020.

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · BDO USA, P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1MYr 2: $0.1MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total Operating Revenue for FY ended December 31, 2023: Royalty fees $78,471 + Franchise fees $5,000. 100% of revenues earned from one franchisee. No royalties charged in 2021 due to COVID-19 relief.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 49 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDOnly 13 units system-wide suggests minimal scale, limited support infrastructure, and high failure risk
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents ROI validation and raises transparency concerns
  3. 03MINORUnknown unit growth trajectory suggests stagnation or contraction in recent years
  4. 04MEDHigh initial investment range ($1.1M–$2.3M) paired with undisclosed earnings creates extreme uncertainty on payback period
  5. 05MED6% royalty on non-disclosed revenue baseline makes financial planning impossible for prospective franchisees

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 149 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training172 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationVirginia (litigation only, no arbitration)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawVA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation information required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
148 hrs
Training location
Existing Matchbox restaurant in Northern Virginia and Reston, Virginia headquarters
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(703) 757-••••VA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Matchbox franchise?

The total investment to open a Matchbox franchise ranges from $1.1M – $2.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $60K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Matchbox franchise owners earn?

Matchbox makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Matchbox?

Matchbox is franchised by TH Matchbox Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Thompson Matchbox Ventures, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Thompson Hospitality Corp.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Matchbox FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Matchbox FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Matchbox's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Matchbox (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Matchbox franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Matchbox has 13 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 12 company-owned units.

Is Matchbox a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Matchbox as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 49 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Matchbox, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.