Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Maryland Blue Crab® logo

Maryland Blue Crab® Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsLAFranchising since 2020
DBelow averageBelow average34/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$203K – $513K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01578Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2022 · 4yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Maryland Blue Crab is a seafood franchise serving blue crab and Chesapeake Bay-style dishes. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Maryland Blue Crab® franchise requires a total initial investment of $203K – $513K, including a $19K franchise fee and an ongoing 3.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2022 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$203K – $513K
8th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
3.0%
1st pct Service Resta…
Units
1
1st pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$203K – $513K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$19K – $19K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $100K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
3.0%
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
4.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $203K – $513K including a $19K franchise fee, 3.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 34/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
MD Blue Crab Franchising International, LLC
Predecessor
MBCrab, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President/CEO
Theron McCarthy III
CEO experience
17 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
LA
HQ
13055 West Main Street, Larose, Louisiana 70373
Auditor
Roger and Associates, LLC
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Theron McCarthy III
Headquarters
LA
Founded
2020
FDD year
2022
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 47% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$203K – $513KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$18,500Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2022 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$50K – $100K

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown17 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$19K$19K
Technologynot refundable$6K$23K
Kitchen Equipment, Furniture and Fixturesnot refundable$34K$80K
Real Estate$11K$20K
Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$25K$160K
Utilities$2K$3K
Signagenot refundable$7K$14K
Start Up Inventorynot refundable$10K$15K
Vehiclenot refundable$0$10K
Vehicle Graphicsnot refundable$0$800
Grand Opening Marketingnot refundable$15K$20K
Staffingnot refundable$16K$26K
Uniformsnot refundable$300$500
Insurancenot refundable$5K$12K
Travel, Lodging and Meals for Initial Training Programnot refundable$4K$6K
Licenses, Permits, Certifications and other Professional Feesnot refundable$2K$4K
Additional Funds (3 Months)not refundable$50K$100K
Total initial investment$203K$513K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$203K – $513K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$19K – $19K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
3.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
4.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Maryland Blue Crab®: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty3.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$500
Training fee$200
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$10K – $15K
Total fee load4.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Maryland Blue Crab® makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Maryland Blue Crab® unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $203K–$513K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$433K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 4.0% — below the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Maryland Blue Crab® Compares

Metric
Maryland Blue Crab®
Category median
vs median
Investment
$358K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
1
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 56 of the 2022 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2019
0
Franchised units
2020
0±0
Franchised units
2021
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

2 current owners across 1 state.

  • LA 2

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score34/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average34Verdict score 34/100
Low confidence±19 pts
1553

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Roger and Associates, LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Development-stage franchisor (incorporated Oct 28, 2020); FY2021 audited statements show $0 total revenues and $0 net income; total assets $50,000 (cash $43,747 + start-up costs $6,253) funded entirely by additional paid-in capital.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 34 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 1 unit in system with unknown growth trajectory — signals potential market failure or brand stagnation
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (no Item 19) — impossible to assess ROI or validate investment claims
  3. 03MINORHigh investment range ($203K–$512K) relative to unknowable returns creates extreme financial risk for franchisee
  4. 04MINORSingle unit makes it impossible to validate business model or replicate success across territories

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 4.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term7 yrs
Renewal term7 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training182 hrs

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term7 years
Renewal term7 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius4 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationLafourche Parish, Louisiana
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawLA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
51 hrs
On-the-job training
131 hrs
Training location
Corporate headquarters in Larose, Louisiana
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Not specified
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Not specified

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2 contacts · $49
Free preview
(504) 486-••••LA
Unlock all 2 contacts
(443) 554-••••LA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Maryland Blue Crab® franchise?

The total investment to open a Maryland Blue Crab® franchise ranges from $203K – $513K, with an initial franchise fee of $19K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Maryland Blue Crab® franchise owners earn?

Maryland Blue Crab® makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Maryland Blue Crab®?

Maryland Blue Crab® is franchised by MD Blue Crab Franchising International, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Maryland Blue Crab® FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Maryland Blue Crab® FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Maryland Blue Crab®'s franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Maryland Blue Crab® (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Maryland Blue Crab® franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Maryland Blue Crab® has 1 total units in the United States.

Is Maryland Blue Crab® a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Maryland Blue Crab® as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 34 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Maryland Blue Crab®, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.