Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
hoots wings logo

hoots wings Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsGAFranchising since 2020
BAbove averageAbove average55/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$415K – $1.1M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01227Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Hoots Wings is a quick-service franchise serving Hooters-style chicken wings, tenders, and sides. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A hoots wings franchise requires a total initial investment of $415K – $1.1M, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$415K – $1.1M
66th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
14
44th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$415K – $1.1M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $120K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
14 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $415K – $1.1M including a $30K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 55/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +3 franchised outlets in the latest year (3 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Hoots Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Hooters of America, LLC (HOA)
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2023 FDD
Ultimate parent
Hawk Parent, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2023 FDD
CEO title
President, Manager and Chief Executive Officer
Sal Melilli
CEO experience
17 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
1815 The Exchange, Atlanta, Georgia 30339
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$488.0M
vs $486.6M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Affiliated brands

  • of ours described below)
  • of Hooters of America
  • HILP
  • HOA Gift Cards
  • Hoots System Fund
  • Hoots Restaurant Holder

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Sal Melilli
Headquarters
GA
Founded
2018
FDD year
2023
States available
4

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 59% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$415K – $1.1MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 30 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 21 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$25K – $120K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

hoots wings: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$25K$120K
Equipment, build-out, other$360K$982K
Total initial investment$415K$1.1M

Source: hoots wings 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$415K – $1.1M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $120K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

hoots wings: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Training fee$9K
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $20K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

hoots wings makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one hoots wings unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $415K–$1.1M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$120K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$846K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 149 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 200.0% CAGR over 3 years across 14 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 24% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How hoots wings Compares

Metric
hoots wings
Category median
vs median
Investment
$773K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
14
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units14Verified — printed on page 73 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+200.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
14
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
86%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
23.8%
Net growth (3-yr)
+200.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+200.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
6
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
14.3%
Units that stopped operating
2020
4
Franchised units
2021
9+5
Franchised units
2022
12+3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

12 current owners across 4 states.

  • TX 6
  • IL 3
  • FL 2
  • NJ 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score55/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average55Verdict score 55/100

High-growth wings concept with aggressive expansion (33%), undisclosed unit economics, and documented litigation involving franchisor affiliates over contract disputes and unpaid royalties presents meaningful profitability and legal risks.

Low confidence±16 pts
3971

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed against Hoots Franchising LLC. Multiple concluded affiliate (HOA/Hooters) cases disclosed covering franchisee defaults, territory disputes, and collection actions, all resolved.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $488.0MYr 2: $486.6MNon-royalty: $2.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures from the audited Consolidated Financial Statements of HOA Restaurant Group, LLC and Subsidiaries (the parent/guarantor of franchisor Hoots Franchising, LLC), as Item 21 relies on these consolidated audited statements. Franchisor Hoots Franchising, LLC itself only has unaudited financials (F-3/F-4). Amounts originally stated "in thousands of USD" and have been multiplied by 1,000. Most recent fiscal year ended December 25, 2022 (prior year December 26, 2021). Total revenues FY2022 = $487,979K comprising restaurant sales net $463,165K, royalty and franchise fee revenues $22,850K, and other revenues $1,964K. Balance sheet reconciles: total liabilities $744,381K + members' deficit ($86,671K) = total assets $657,710K. Audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Atlanta, GA, dated April 24, 2023.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 55 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure (average unit volume and net income not provided) - impossible to assess actual profitability or ROI on $414.5K-$1.132M investment
  2. 02MINORAggressive unit growth (33.3% YoY) with only 14 total units suggests either rapid expansion phase with unproven model or cherry-picked growth period
  3. 03HIGHMultiple litigation cases involving franchisor affiliates covering breach of contract, trademark disputes, non-compete enforcement, and unpaid royalty arbitrations indicate systemic disputes with franchisees
  4. 04MED5% royalty on gross sales with no disclosed net income prevents assessment of actual franchisee profitability or break-even timeline
  5. 05HIGHBankruptcy-related adversary proceeding in litigation history suggests financial distress within franchise system

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 149 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training319 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Termination groundsℹ14
Curable defaultsℹ12
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawGA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed against Hoots Franchising LLC. Multiple concluded affiliate (HOA/Hooters) cases disclosed covering franchisee defaults, territory disputes, and collection actions, all resolved.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
16 hrs
On-the-job training
314 hrs
Training location
Atlanta, GA or a region nearer to franchisee
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects with franchisor approval; franchisor provides guidelines and may conduct site selection trip
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
NCR Aloha
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: NCR Aloha

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

12 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 12 contacts · $49
Free preview
727-220-••••FL
Unlock all 12 contacts
817-887-••••TX
972-598-••••TX
813-374-••••FL
872-249-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a hoots wings franchise?

The total investment to open a hoots wings franchise ranges from $415K – $1.1M, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do hoots wings franchise owners earn?

hoots wings makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns hoots wings?

hoots wings is franchised by Hoots Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Hooters of America, LLC (HOA). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Hawk Parent, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the hoots wings FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the hoots wings FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is hoots wings's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for hoots wings (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many hoots wings franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, hoots wings has 14 total units in the United States, including 12 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is hoots wings a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates hoots wings as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 55 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent hoots wings, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.