Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
HHO Carbon Clean Systems logo

HHO Carbon Clean Systems Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Cleaning & MaintenanceKYFranchising since 2020
BAbove averageAbove average50/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$108K – $185K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01191FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

HHO Carbon Clean Systems is an automotive franchise that uses hydrogen-based technology to remove carbon buildup from vehicle engines. Franchisees run mobile or shop operations, managing service calls and customer accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A HHO Carbon Clean Systems franchise requires a total initial investment of $108K – $185K, including a $45K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$108K – $185K
41st pct Cleaning & Ma…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
14th pct Cleaning & Ma…
Units
15
24th pct Cleaning & Ma…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Cleaning & Maintenance · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$108K – $185K
Median $169K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$45K – $45K
Median $47K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $21K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 8.3%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
15 units
Median 51 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
26.7%
Median 3.4%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Cleaning & Maintenance median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $108K – $185K including a $45K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 50/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (3 opened, 4 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG4 units terminated last reporting year (26.7% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
HHO Franchise, LLC
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Jared English
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
KY
HQ
3060 John L. Puryear Drive, Paducah, Kentucky 42003
Auditor
Metwally CPA PLLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$219K
vs $276K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Jared English
Headquarters
KY
Founded
2020
FDD year
2025
States available
12

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 13% below the typical cleaning & maintenance franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$108K – $185KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$44,900Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $21K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$45K$45K
Construction and Leasehold Improvements$0$3K
Storage Unit$0$750
Service Vehicle$5K$41K
Service Vehicle Initial Equipment Package$31K$45K
Service Vehicle Equipment Installation$4K$6K
Service Vehicle Wrap$3K$4K
Software and Business Management System$2K$3K
Start-Up Marketing$3K$6K
Insurance Deposits - Three Months$3K$5K
Travel for Initial Training$2K$3K
Professional Fees$1K$2K
Licenses and Permits$500$1K
Vehicle Maintenance$500$750
Additional Funds - Three Months$10K$21K
Total initial investment$108K$185K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$108K – $185K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $21K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

HHO Carbon Clean Systems: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$275
Training fee$400
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$10K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

HHO Carbon Clean Systems makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one HHO Carbon Clean Systems unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $108K–$185K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$21K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$162K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 129 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Cleaning & Maintenance median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 40.0% CAGR over 3 years across 15 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Cleaning & Maintenance medians

How HHO Carbon Clean Systems Compares

Metric
HHO Carbon Clean Systems
Category median
vs median
Investment
$147K
$169Kmiddle half $115K–$269K · n=170
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$538Kmiddle half $349K–$1.1M · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
15
51middle half 12–108 · n=169
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Cleaning & Maintenance brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units15Verified — printed on page 43 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-6.7% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate26.7% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
15
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
4
Terminated
4
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
26.7%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
93%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-6.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+40.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
4
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
26.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
26.7%
Units that stopped operating
2022
10
Franchised units
2023
15+5
Franchised units
2024
14-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 12 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

12

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$150K
Median loan
$150K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score50/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average50Verdict score 50/100

Declining unit count, missing financial performance data, and high fee structure create significant uncertainty around franchisee profitability and system viability.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3763

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Metwally CPA PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

The provided page images (p188-p192) contain only Exhibit G (Lists of Franchisees with Open Outlets and Franchisees That Have Left the System as of December 31, 2024) and Exhibit H (State Specific Addenda, including the California FDD Amendment) for HHO Carbon Clean Systems Multi-State FDD dated January 29, 2025. No audited financial statements, balance sheet, income statement, or Independent Auditor's Report are present in these pages, so no financial figures could be extracted.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 50 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count declining 6.7% YoY (15 units total) suggests system contraction and weak franchisee recruitment/retention
  2. 02MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosed in FDD Item 19 — impossible to validate ROI claims or unit economics
  3. 03MINORHigh initial investment ($108k-$185k) paired with declining unit count increases franchisee failure risk
  4. 04MINORMinimum monthly royalty fee requirement (amount unspecified) could strain cash flow, especially for new units
  5. 05MEDRoyalty structure of 6-8% plus minimum fee is aggressive for a specialized B2B service with limited market penetration
  6. 06MEDOnly 15 franchised units indicates immature/niche system with limited brand recognition and marketing leverage

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 129 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training41 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population250,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMcCracken County, Kentucky
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawKY
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
22 hrs
On-the-job training
19 hrs
Training location
Paducah, Kentucky
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves if commercial office chosen (home-based permitted)
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
FranFast CRM and Business Management System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: FranFast CRM and Business Management System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

18 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 18 contacts · $49
Free preview
(800) 278-••••
Unlock all 18 contacts
832-755-••••
314-422-••••
770-895-••••
515-669-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a HHO Carbon Clean Systems franchise?

The total investment to open a HHO Carbon Clean Systems franchise ranges from $108K – $185K, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do HHO Carbon Clean Systems franchise owners earn?

HHO Carbon Clean Systems makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns HHO Carbon Clean Systems?

HHO Carbon Clean Systems is franchised by HHO Franchise, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the HHO Carbon Clean Systems FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the HHO Carbon Clean Systems FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is HHO Carbon Clean Systems's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for HHO Carbon Clean Systems (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many HHO Carbon Clean Systems franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, HHO Carbon Clean Systems has 15 total units in the United States, including 14 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is HHO Carbon Clean Systems a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates HHO Carbon Clean Systems as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 50 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent HHO Carbon Clean Systems, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Cleaning & Maintenance franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Cleaning & Maintenance category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.