Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Grabbagreen logo

Grabbagreen Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsTNFranchising since 2015
CAverageAverage39/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$284K – $627K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01093FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Grabbagreen is a fast-casual franchise serving healthy juices, smoothies, bowls, and clean-label meals. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing fresh prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Grabbagreen franchise requires a total initial investment of $284K – $627K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$284K – $627K
44th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
4
18th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$284K – $627K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $20K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
4 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
20 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $284K – $627K including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 39/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • LEGAL20 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
MTY Franchising USA, Inc.
Parent company
MTY Franchising Inc. (MTY Canada)
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
MTY Food Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Grabbagreen Franchising, LLC (subsidiary of Eat Clean Holdings, LLC)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Eric Lefebvre
CEO experience
15 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
TN
HQ
9311 East Via de Ventura, Scottsdale, Arizona 85258
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$580.3M
vs $263.7M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 7

26 other brands on this site name MTY Food Group, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Portfolio: MTY Food Group

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Eric Lefebvre
Headquarters
TN
Founded
2001
FDD year
2025
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a quick-service restaurants franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$284K – $627KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 44 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 35 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 37 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee (Traditional)$16K$30K
Lease Review Fee (Traditional)$0$3K
Rent / Security Deposit (Traditional)$10K$20K
Travel and Living Expenses (2 persons) While Training (Traditional)$3K$5K
Real Estate (Traditional)——
Architectural Fees (Traditional)$8K$25K
Leasehold Improvements (Traditional)$122K$313K
Restaurant Equipment, Furniture, Small Wares, Interior Signage and Menu Panels (Traditional)$80K$145K
Exterior Signage (Traditional)$8K$17K
Computer / Laptop, Hardware, Software (POS System) (Traditional)$5K$8K
PCI Compliance Costs (Traditional)$150$1K
Opening Inventory - Food and Paper (Traditional)$3K$7K
Business Insurance (Traditional)$1K$3K
Miscellaneous Opening Costs (Traditional)$1K$18K
Grand Opening Marketing (Traditional)$10K$10K
Depository Account (Traditional)$3K$3K
Data Fees (Traditional)$0$75
Additional Funds - 3 Month Initial Period (Traditional)$15K$20K
Total initial investment$284K$627K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$284K – $627K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Grabbagreen: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Technology fee$75
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$15K
Inventory (initial)$3K – $7K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Grabbagreen makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Grabbagreen unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $284K–$627K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$473K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 152 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System shrank 42.9% over 3 years. Ask existing franchisees about local market conditions.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Grabbagreen Compares

Metric
Grabbagreen
Category median
vs median
Investment
$455K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
4
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units4Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 85 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-42.9% (worth scrutinizing)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
4
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-42.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-42.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
100.0%
Units that stayed open
2022
7
Franchised units
2023
4-3
Franchised units
2024
4±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 3 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

3

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 8 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
8
Loan volume
$2.5M
Median loan
$335K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (8)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
6
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (8)
Verdict score39/100 (higher is better)
Litigation20 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage39Verdict score 39/100

Grabbagreen presents HIGH RISK due to catastrophic unit decline (-43% YoY), absence of Item 19 financials, documented litigation for franchise law violations, and unclear franchisor stability—unsuitable for capital-intensive franchise investment.

Moderate confidence±9 pts
3048

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Item 3 discloses approximately 20 distinct cases involving MTY USA and its affiliates/predecessors including Extreme Pita USA, Kahala Franchising, SFF/SweetFrog, BF Acquisition, Famous Dave's, VI BrandCo, Wetzel's Pretzels, and Papa Murphy's. Cases include franchisee misrepresentation claims, breach of contract, trademark infringement, and state administrative actions. Two active 2024 cases by Kahala Franchising against franchisees.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $580.3MYr 2: $263.7MTotal: $597.5MNon-royalty: $51.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated revenue of MTY Franchising USA, Inc. (the franchisor) and subsidiaries for the year ended Nov 30, 2023; figures reported in thousands of USD and converted to dollars. Audited by PwC (Montreal). The 2023 increase reflects acquisitions; brand operates only 4 Grabbagreen restaurants.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 39 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count collapsed 42.9% YoY (from ~7 to 4 units) indicating severe system contraction and franchisee failure rate
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure — cannot verify average unit economics, profitability, or ROI claims
  3. 03HIGHMultiple litigation cases including franchise law violations and state administrative actions in Maryland and Virginia suggest compliance/governance issues
  4. 04MINORRoyalty structure ($400/week minimum = ~$20,800/year) represents high fixed cost burden on declining unit volumes, pressure on franchisee profitability
  5. 05MINORHigh investment ceiling ($626,575) with unverified revenue/net income creates extreme downside risk without financial benchmarks

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 152 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training120 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window10 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice14 days
Curable defaultsℹ5
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationCounty and state where Franchised Business is located
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawState where Franchised Business is located
Litigation count20
View Item 3 litigation summary

Item 3 discloses approximately 20 distinct cases involving MTY USA and its affiliates/predecessors including Extreme Pita USA, Kahala Franchising, SFF/SweetFrog, BF Acquisition, Famous Dave's, VI BrandCo, Wetzel's Pretzels, and Papa Murphy's. Cases include franchisee misrepresentation claims, breach of contract, trademark infringement, and state administrative actions. Two active 2024 cases by Kahala Franchising against franchisees.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
80 hrs
Training location
Scottsdale, Arizona (KTEC) and training restaurant in Arizona
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Grabbagreen franchise?

The total investment to open a Grabbagreen franchise ranges from $284K – $627K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Grabbagreen franchise owners earn?

Grabbagreen makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Grabbagreen?

Grabbagreen is franchised by MTY Franchising USA, Inc.. Its parent company is MTY Franchising Inc. (MTY Canada). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is MTY Food Group, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Grabbagreen FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Grabbagreen FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Grabbagreen's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Grabbagreen (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Grabbagreen franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Grabbagreen has 4 total units in the United States, including 4 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Grabbagreen a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Grabbagreen as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 39 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Grabbagreen, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.