Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
First Watch logo

First Watch Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsFLFranchising since 2008
AStrongest tierStrongest tier74/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.2M – $2.0M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 12 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00939Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

First Watch is a daytime-only, full-service franchise serving breakfast, brunch, and lunch made from fresh ingredients. Franchisees operate restaurants open mornings through mid-afternoon, managing kitchen, service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A First Watch franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.2M – $2.0M, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$1.2M – $2.0M
35th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
3rd pct Service Resta…
Units
474
36th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.2M – $2.0M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $40K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $100K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
5.5% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 12 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 12 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
474 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.2M – $2.0M including a $40K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 74/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +14 franchised outlets in the latest year (14 opened, 0 closed); 12 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 22.7% CAGR over 3 years with 474 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
First Watch Franchise Development Co.
Parent company
First Watch Restaurants, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2023 FDD
Ultimate parent
First Watch Restaurant Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2023 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and President
Christopher A. Tomasso
CEO experience
2006 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
8725 Pendery Place, Suite 201, Bradenton, Florida 34201
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$730.2M
vs $601.2M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Christopher A. Tomasso
Headquarters
FL
Founded
1983
FDD year
2023
States available
18

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 139% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.2M – $2.0MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$30K – $100K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

First Watch: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$30K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$1.1M$1.9M
Total initial investment$1.2M$2.0M

Source: First Watch 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.2M – $2.0M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
5.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

First Watch: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.5% of gross sales
Training fee$15K
Transfer fee$20K
Renewal fee$20K
Inventory (initial)$7K – $12K
Total fee load5.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

First Watch makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one First Watch unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.2M–$2.0M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.7M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 138 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.5% — below the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 22.7% CAGR over 3 years across 474 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 17% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How First Watch Compares

Metric
First Watch
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.6M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
474
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units474Verified — printed on page 46 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+22.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
474
Opened
14
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
366
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
23%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
16.7%
Net growth (3-yr)
+22.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+22.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
12
0.03 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
16
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
88
Franchised units
2021
94+6
Franchised units
2022
108+14
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 18 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 18 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

97 current owners across 18 states.

  • NC 26
  • TX 16
  • KY 10
  • TN 8
  • NE 6
  • SC 5
  • FL 4
  • VA 4
  • WI 4
  • AR 3
  • MO 3
  • GA 2
  • +6 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
12
Loan volume
$9.9M
Median loan
$980K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 12 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 12 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 12 loans
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
6
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
6.8%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
13.2%
n=4,117 loans
Jobs supported
156
4.2 per loan
Lender concentration
25%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 75% went to startups / new businesses, 25% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in full-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 13.2% vs 9.7% for independents — franchising is associated with 36% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing First Watch franchisees

Pinnacle Bank1 loans0.0%
Centerstone SBA Lending, Inc.1 loans0.0%
Florida Capital Bank, National Association1 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 6 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for First Watch from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
75%
Avg interest rate
6.75%
Lender concentration
25.0%
Job velocity
4.2 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
7.4%
NAICS 722511
Jobs supported
156

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 25% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Pinnacle Bank1$960K0.0%
2Centerstone SBA Lending, Inc.1$775K0.0%
3Florida Capital Bank, National Association1$1.0M0.0%
4Meridian Bank1$1.0M0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
FLFlorida200.0%
GAGeorgia100.0%
SCSouth Carolina100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2018
1
2019
1
2020
1
2021
1

Borrower profile

Startup3 (75%)
Existing (2+ yr)1 (25%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 12 loans
Verdict score74/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier74Verdict score 74/100

First Watch presents moderate-to-cautious risk due to high capital requirements, undisclosed profitability metrics, and lack of financial performance data (Item 19), making ROI validation impossible before investment.

High confidence±8 pts
6682

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $730.2MYr 2: $601.2MNon-royalty: $11.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21: First Watch Franchise Development Co. does not prepare stand-alone financial statements; figures are the audited consolidated statements of its ultimate parent/guarantor First Watch Restaurant Group, Inc. (FWRG) for FY ended Dec 25, 2022 (yr1) and Dec 26, 2021 (yr2). Total revenues = restaurant sales ($719,181K) + franchise revenues ($10,981K, shown as other_revenue). Audited by PwC (Tampa, FL; auditor since 1999). All amounts in thousands of USD.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 74 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial performance data disclosed — cannot verify if $1.2M-$2M investment generates positive ROI
  2. 02MINORHigh initial investment ($1.2M-$2M) with 4% royalty requires substantial sales to break even; no average unit volume provided
  3. 03MINOR14.9% YoY unit growth is solid but system size (474 units) is relatively small; vulnerability to localized economic downturns
  4. 04MINORFranchise fee ($40K) low relative to total investment, suggesting high operating costs and thin margins
  5. 05MINORNo going concern disclaimer listed, but lack of financial transparency raises questions about franchisor stability and franchisee profitability

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 138 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training475 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationAAA office closest to Bradenton, Florida
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawFL
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
75 hrs
On-the-job training
400 hrs
Training location
Certified Training Restaurant (throughout U.S.) and corporate headquarters
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
14 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Aloha POS / Restaurant Magic Data Central
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Aloha POS / Restaurant Magic Data Central

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

97 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 97 contacts · $49
Free preview
(414) 409-••••WI
Unlock all 97 contacts
(850) 234-••••FL
(812) 809-••••IN
(919) 822-••••NC
(502) 370-••••KY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a First Watch franchise?

The total investment to open a First Watch franchise ranges from $1.2M – $2.0M, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do First Watch franchise owners earn?

First Watch makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns First Watch?

First Watch is franchised by First Watch Franchise Development Co.. Its parent company is First Watch Restaurants, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is First Watch Restaurant Group, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the First Watch FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the First Watch FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is First Watch's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for First Watch (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many First Watch franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, First Watch has 474 total units in the United States, including 108 franchised units and 366 company-owned units. 14 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is First Watch a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates First Watch as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 74 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent First Watch, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.