Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Country Kitchen logo

Country Kitchen Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsWIFranchising since 2011
CAverageAverage45/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$565K – $1.7M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
15.8%
on 67 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00643Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Country Kitchen is a family restaurant franchise serving all-day breakfast and comfort food in a homestyle setting. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, table service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Country Kitchen franchise requires a total initial investment of $565K – $1.7M, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 15.8% charge-off rate across 67 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$565K – $1.7M
26th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
3rd pct Service Resta…
Units
20
19th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
15.8%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$565K – $1.7M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $40K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$75K – $195K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
5.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
15.8%
67 loans · Median 12.2%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
20 units
Median 20 units
near median
Turnover Rate
5.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $565K – $1.7M including a $40K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 45/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 15.8% across 67 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Legacy Franchise Group, LLC
Predecessor
Kitchen Investment Group, Inc. (KIGI); Country Kitchen Franchise Marketing Group, LLC (CKFMG)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Charles Mocco
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
TN
HQ
6405 Century Avenue, Ste. 001, Middleton, Wisconsin 53562
Auditor
Wegner CPAs, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.3M
vs $1.3M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Charles Mocco
Headquarters
WI
Founded
2011
FDD year
2024
States available
11

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 65% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$565K – $1.7MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$75K – $195K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Country Kitchen: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$75K$195K
Equipment, build-out, other$450K$1.4M
Total initial investment$565K$1.7M

Source: Country Kitchen 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$565K – $1.7M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$75K – $195K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
5.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Country Kitchen: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$6K
Training fee$50K
Transfer fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$75K – $150K
Total fee load5.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Country Kitchen makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Country Kitchen unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $565K–$1.7M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $75K–$195K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.3M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 127 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.0% — below the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -25.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Country Kitchen Compares

Metric
Country Kitchen
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.1M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
20
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Near median

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units20Verified — printed on page 55 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-25.9% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate5.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
20
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-25.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-25.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
5.0%
Units that stopped operating
2021
22
Franchised units
2022
20-2
Franchised units
2023
20±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 9 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 9 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

20 current owners across 9 states.

  • CA 4
  • WI 4
  • MN 3
  • MO 3
  • IA 2
  • CO 1
  • NE 1
  • OH 1
  • OR 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

C
SBA Lending Health
Average SBA lending record · 15.8% charge-off
Total loans
67
Loan volume
$27.9M
Median loan
$368K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
15.8%
on 67 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
84.2%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
30
Defaults
9
Typical loan rate
6.1%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
21.6%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
359
2.1 per loan
Lender concentration
15%
top lender's share

Franchise vs independent — in full-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 21.6% vs 22.5% for independents — franchising is associated with 4% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Country Kitchen charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Country Kitchen charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 5 vintages from 1993 to 2004. Rates range from 0.0% to 40.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%'93'95'97'00'04

Top lenders financing Country Kitchen franchisees

Readycap Lending, LLC6 loans0.0%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association4 loans50.0%
Old National Bank2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 30 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
17
Loan volume
$5.8M
Charge-off rate
5.9%
Jobs created
543

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Country Kitchen from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
16.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
73%
Avg interest rate
6.06%
Avg chargeoff amount
$341K
Lender concentration
15.4%
Job velocity
2.1 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
24.7%
NAICS 722110
Jobs supported
359

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 15% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Readycap Lending, LLC6$3.6M0.0%
2Wells Fargo Bank National Association4$887K50.0%
3Old National Bank2$634K0.0%
4U.S. Bank, National Association2$959K0.0%
5First Interstate Bank2$758K0.0%
6BMO Bank National Association2$760K0.0%
7First National Bank Minnesota2$1.1M50.0%
8Business Loan Center, LLC1$560K0.0%
9PNC Bank, National Association1$235K0.0%
10First National Bank1$324K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
MNMinnesota8112.5%
OHOhio500.0%
IAIowa3133.3%
WIWisconsin300.0%
AZArizona200.0%
MOMissouri2150.0%
MTMontana200.0%
NENebraska22100.0%
SDSouth Dakota200.0%
COColorado100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

1993
3
1994
2
1995
7
1996
3
1997
3
1998
2
1999
1
2000
3
2001
2
2003
2
2004
5
2006
1
2007
1
2010
1
2013
1
2014
1
2016
1

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans here charge off near the 16.0% national average.

SBA charge-off15.8% · 67 loans
Verdict score45/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage45Verdict score 45/100

Country Kitchen presents high-risk franchise investment due to lack of financial transparency, tiny system size, no territory protection, and undisclosed going concern status — suitable only for investors willing to pioneer an unproven model with limited franchisor support.

High confidence±6 pts
3951

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Wegner CPAs, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.3MYr 2: $1.3MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY ended August 31, 2024. Total revenue of $1,309,184 comprises initial franchise fee income ($40,000), franchise (royalty) fee income ($845,486), advertising fee income ($233,413), vendor rebate income ($161,122), and convention fee income ($29,163). Other income ($46,096) and employee retention credit are reported separately below operating income, not in total revenue. 2023 and 2022 statements were audited by other (prior) auditors.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 45 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 (Average Unit Volume) disclosed — impossible to assess ROI or validate $415k-$1.67M investment viability
  2. 02MEDOnly 20 units system-wide indicates minimal scale, limited support infrastructure, and high systemic failure risk
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; franchisees can cannibalize each other's revenue
  4. 04MINORUnknown unit growth trajectory — no clarity on system expansion, stability, or franchisee success rates
  5. 05MINORWide investment range ($415k-$1.67M, 304% spread) suggests inconsistent unit economics or poor cost controls
  6. 06MED4-5% royalty on undisclosed revenues means franchisees cannot validate whether royalty burden is sustainable

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 127 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training480 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Territory population40,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationMadison, Wisconsin
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawWI
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
90 hrs
On-the-job training
390 hrs
Training location
Certified Training Country Kitchen locations and Corporate Office (Middleton, Wisconsin)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee (with franchisor approval required)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

20 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 20 contacts · $49
Free preview
(319) 377-••••IA
Unlock all 20 contacts
(719) 545-••••CO
(951) 268-••••CA
(218) 326-••••MN
(641) 682-••••IA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Country Kitchen franchise?

The total investment to open a Country Kitchen franchise ranges from $565K – $1.7M, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Country Kitchen franchise owners earn?

Country Kitchen makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Country Kitchen?

Country Kitchen is franchised by Legacy Franchise Group, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Country Kitchen FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Country Kitchen FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Country Kitchen's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Country Kitchen has a charge-off rate of 15.8% across 67 loans, meaning 15.8% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Country Kitchen franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Country Kitchen has 20 total units in the United States, including 20 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Country Kitchen a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Country Kitchen as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 45 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Country Kitchen, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.