Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Black Rifle Coffee Company logo

Black Rifle Coffee Company Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsUTFranchising since 2022
BAbove averageAbove average54/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.6M – $3.3M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00319FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Black Rifle Coffee Company is a coffee franchise serving specialty drinks and selling its veteran-founded roasted coffee and branded merchandise. Franchisees run the outposts, managing baristas, retail, and community events.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Black Rifle Coffee Company franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.6M – $3.3M, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$1.6M – $3.3M
98th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
37
60th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.6M – $3.3M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $35K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$100K – $350K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
37 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
5.4%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.6M – $3.3M including a $35K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 54/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 2 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 81.8% CAGR over 3 years with 37 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Black Rifle Coffee Company LLC
Parent company
Good Beans LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
BRC Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer & Director
Christopher Mondzelewski
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
1144 South 500 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$391.5M
vs $391.5M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Christopher Mondzelewski
Headquarters
UT
Founded
2017
FDD year
2025
States available
10

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 407% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.6M – $3.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$100K – $350K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$35K$35K
Lease$24K$55K
Utility Deposit$750$2K
Architect Fees$50K$130K
Construction Costs$650K$1.7M
Expenses for Initial Training$40K$60K
Business Licenses and Permits$5K$10K
Business Insurance$10K$15K
Initial Inventory$60K$120K
IT, Computer Hardware & Software, Drive-Thru Technologies$120K$125K
Furniture, Fixtures, & Equipment$400K$495K
Signage$80K$165K
Grand Opening Marketing Program$15K$20K
Professional Fees$10K$20K
Additional Funds (3 months)$100K$350K
Total initial investment$1.6M$3.3M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.6M – $3.3M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$100K – $350K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Black Rifle Coffee Company: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Technology fee$0
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$18K
Inventory (initial)$60K – $120K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Black Rifle Coffee Company makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Black Rifle Coffee Company unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.6M–$3.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $100K–$350K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$2.7M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 81.8% CAGR over 3 years across 37 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Black Rifle Coffee Company Compares

Metric
Black Rifle Coffee Company
Category median
vs median
Investment
$2.5M
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
37
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units37Verified — printed on page 48 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+81.8% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate5.4% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
37
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.4%
Company-owned
17
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
54%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+81.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+81.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
1
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.03 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
2.7%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
2.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
5.4%
Units that stopped operating
2022
11
Franchised units
2023
18+7
Franchised units
2024
20+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

14 current owners across 7 states.

  • GA 4
  • UT 3
  • FL 2
  • SC 2
  • CA 1
  • OH 1
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 2 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$1.3M
Median loan
$649K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (2)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (2)
Verdict score54/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average54Verdict score 54/100

High capital requirement, undisclosed unit economics, multiple active disputes, and modest unit growth create significant risk without access to proven franchisee performance data.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
4464

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Tang Capital Partners breach of contract re: warrant agreement (pending trial July 2025); 1791 Management LP fraud/breach claims (dismissed); Strategy and Execution Inc. breach of contract (settled $400K in Jan 2025); Clark et al. breach of contract re: warrant agreement (stayed)

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $391.5MYr 2: $391.5MNon-royalty: $2.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenue of $391,489,933.32 is BRC Inc. consolidated (ultimate parent, NYSE: BRCC) for fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, per Item 8. Audited Item 21 statements (Exhibit F-1) are BRC Inc. consolidated; the franchisor Black Rifle Coffee Company LLC does not issue separate audited statements. Balance-sheet line items in the audited exhibit were not machine-readable in the source text (obfuscated encoding).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 54 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo average unit volume (Item 19) disclosure prevents ROI validation against $1.6M-$3.3M investment
  2. 02HIGHMultiple active litigation cases including royalty disputes with Strategy and Execution, Inc. suggest operational/payment conflicts
  3. 03MINORSlow unit growth (11.1% YoY on 37 units = ~4 net new franchises annually) indicates market saturation or franchisee struggles
  4. 04MINORHigh initial investment ($1.6M-$3.3M) with 6% royalty creates aggressive break-even threshold requiring $27K-$55K monthly revenue
  5. 05HIGHLitigation involving warrant agreements and Tang Capital Partners suggests corporate governance instability and potential founder/investor conflicts

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training192 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationSalt Lake City, Utah
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawUT
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

Tang Capital Partners breach of contract re: warrant agreement (pending trial July 2025); 1791 Management LP fraud/breach claims (dismissed); Strategy and Execution Inc. breach of contract (settled $400K in Jan 2025); Clark et al. breach of contract re: warrant agreement (stayed)

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
58 hrs
On-the-job training
134 hrs
Training location
Select Corporate Stores (typically Texas or Tennessee)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee proposes, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
NCR ALOHA
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: NCR ALOHA

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

14 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 14 contacts · $49
Free preview
(854) 237-••••SC
Unlock all 14 contacts
(801) 550-••••UT
(801) 319-••••UT
(678) 777-••••GA
(912) 480-••••GA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Black Rifle Coffee Company franchise?

The total investment to open a Black Rifle Coffee Company franchise ranges from $1.6M – $3.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Black Rifle Coffee Company franchise owners earn?

Black Rifle Coffee Company makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Black Rifle Coffee Company?

Black Rifle Coffee Company is franchised by Black Rifle Coffee Company LLC. Its parent company is Good Beans LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is BRC Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Black Rifle Coffee Company FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Black Rifle Coffee Company FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Black Rifle Coffee Company's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Black Rifle Coffee Company (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Black Rifle Coffee Company franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Black Rifle Coffee Company has 37 total units in the United States, including 20 franchised units and 17 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Black Rifle Coffee Company a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Black Rifle Coffee Company as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 54 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Black Rifle Coffee Company, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.