Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
American Leak Detection logo

American Leak Detection Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Home ServicesCTFranchising since 1985
BAbove averageAbove average53/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$77K – $260K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 25 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00121Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

American Leak Detection is a home-services franchise that finds hidden water, sewer, and gas leaks using non-invasive equipment for homes and businesses. Franchisees run a service operation dispatching technicians for leak-locating jobs in a territory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A American Leak Detection franchise requires a total initial investment of $77K – $260K, including a $30K – $120K franchise fee and an ongoing 10.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$77K – $260K
17th pct Home Services
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
10.0%
75th pct Home Services
Units
140
67th pct Home Services
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Home Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$77K – $260K
Median $168K
near median
Franchise Fee
$30K – $120K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$18K – $33K
Median $29K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
10.0%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 25 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 25 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
140 units
Median 47 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 4.3%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Home Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $77K – $260K including a $30K franchise fee, 10.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -15 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -16.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
American Leak Detection, Inc.
Parent company
American Leak Detection Holding Corp.
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
Water Intelligence plc
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2024 FDD
Predecessor
Richard Rennick
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chairman and CEO
Patrick DeSouza
Incorporated in
CT
HQ
199 Whitney Avenue Floor 2, New Haven, CT 06511
Auditor
Marcum LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$65.9M
vs $49.5M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Patrick DeSouza
Headquarters
CT
Founded
1974
FDD year
2024
States available
33

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a home services franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$77K – $260KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$29,500Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty10.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$18K – $33K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Fee$30K$120K
Equipment and Products Package$26K$52K
Training Package$3K$6K
Business Licenses$0$250
Telephone Security Deposit$30$250
Personal Working Hand Tools$200$2K
Work Vehicle$0$35K
Desk, Computer Hardware, Incidental Office Supplies$100$5K
Shipping$100$750
Insurance$750$3K
Sales Taxes, City, County, State$0$3K
Business Management Accounting Software$75$300
Additional Funds to Commence Operations$18K$33K
Total initial investment$77K$260K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$77K – $260K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$18K – $33K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $120K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
10.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
-n/d
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

American Leak Detection: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty10.0% of gross sales
Training fee$3K
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$26K – $52K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

American Leak Detection makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one American Leak Detection unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $77K–$260K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $18K–$33K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$193K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — above the Home Services median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -16.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

Only 16% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Home Services medians

How American Leak Detection Compares

Metric
American Leak Detection
Category median
vs median
Investment
$168K
$168Kmiddle half $122K–$232K · n=283
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$587Kmiddle half $376K–$1.3M · n=79
N/A
Unit Count
140
47middle half 14–137 · n=283
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Home Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units140Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 35 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-16.0% (worth scrutinizing)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
140
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
47
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
72%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
15.6%
Net growth (3-yr)
-16.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-16.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
14
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
88.2%
Units that stayed open
2021
119
Franchised units
2022
108-11
Franchised units
2023
93-15
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 22 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 22 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

59 current owners across 22 states.

  • CA 17
  • FL 10
  • CO 4
  • CT 3
  • AL 2
  • AR 2
  • AZ 2
  • GA 2
  • ID 2
  • IN 2
  • LA 2
  • IL 1
  • +10 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
25
Loan volume
$7.8M
Median loan
$94K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 25 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 25 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 25 loans
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
15
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
5.7%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
20.0%
n=454 loans
Jobs supported
97
1.3 per loan
Lender concentration
20%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 0% went to startups / new businesses, 100% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in plumbing, heating, and air-conditioning contract, franchised businesses charge off at 20.0% vs 14.5% for independents — franchising is associated with 38% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing American Leak Detection franchisees

Readycap Lending, LLC4 loans0.0%
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association3 loans0.0%
Webster Bank National Association2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 15 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$201K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
4

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for American Leak Detection from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
70%
Avg interest rate
5.69%
Lender concentration
20.0%
Job velocity
1.3 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
13.6%
NAICS 238220
Jobs supported
97

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 20% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Readycap Lending, LLC4$311K0.0%
2JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association3$1.9M0.0%
3Webster Bank National Association2$65K0.0%
4Fifth Third Bank2$2.6MN/A
5One Valley Bank, Inc1$90K0.0%
6Business Lenders, LLC1$80K0.0%
7Truist Bank1$50K0.0%
8Banc of California1$230K0.0%
9North Louisiana BIDCO, LLC1$180K0.0%
10SouthState Bank, National Association1$220K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia400.0%
FLFlorida400.0%
CTConnecticut200.0%
GAGeorgia200.0%
WVWest Virginia200.0%
IDIdaho100.0%
INIndiana100.0%
KYKentucky100.0%
LALouisiana100.0%
TXTexas100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

1995
1
1996
2
1997
2
1998
3
2005
2
2011
1
2016
1
2018
5
2019
1
2021
2

Borrower profile

Existing (2+ yr)6 (75%)
Ownership change2 (25%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 25 loans
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Declining unit count combined with withheld financial performance data creates material uncertainty about franchisee profitability and system health.

High confidence±6 pts
4759

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Marcum LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $65.9MYr 2: $49.5MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited consolidated financial statements of American Leak Detection, Inc. and Affiliates (Exhibit E), FY ended Dec 31, 2022. Total Revenue $65,858,625 comprises royalties $6,746,928, operated sales $48,045,601, municipal sales $441,828, parts and equipment sales $668,333, business-to-business sales $9,892,997, and franchise sales $62,938. Note: Item 8 separately states FY2022 total revenues of $63,148,788. Auditor report dated March 30, 2023, Hartford, CT (CPA firm name not present in text).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 11.8% YoY (146 → ~129 units), indicating system contraction and potential franchisee struggles
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents realistic ROI assessment and profitability validation
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($76.7K–$259.5K) suggests inconsistent territory valuations and unclear initial capital requirements
  4. 04MINORNo litigation disclosure provided, though absence doesn't confirm clean history—requires independent verification

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training292 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population300,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationclosest to claimant
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawState of franchised Operating Territory
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
72 hrs
On-the-job training
220 hrs
Training location
Palm Springs, CA
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee (home-based permitted)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
QuickBooks Online
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: QuickBooks Online

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

60 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 60 contacts · $49
Free preview
(407) 381-••••FL
Unlock all 60 contacts
(602) 242-••••AZ
(352) 536-••••FL
(760) 320-••••CA
(410) 442-••••MD

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a American Leak Detection franchise?

The total investment to open a American Leak Detection franchise ranges from $77K – $260K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do American Leak Detection franchise owners earn?

American Leak Detection makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns American Leak Detection?

American Leak Detection is franchised by American Leak Detection, Inc.. Its parent company is American Leak Detection Holding Corp.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Water Intelligence plc. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the American Leak Detection FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the American Leak Detection FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is American Leak Detection's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for American Leak Detection (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many American Leak Detection franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, American Leak Detection has 140 total units in the United States, including 93 franchised units and 47 company-owned units.

Is American Leak Detection a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates American Leak Detection as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent American Leak Detection, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Home Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Home Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.