Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER logo

America’s Dog & Burger Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsILFranchising since 2016
CAverageAverage41/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$290K – $694K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00127Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

America's Dog & Burger is a quick-service franchise serving Chicago-style gourmet hot dogs and burgers. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER franchise requires a total initial investment of $290K – $694K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$290K – $694K
46th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subset
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
3
14th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$290K – $694K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $40K
Median $33K
near median
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
3 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $290K – $694K including a $30K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
America's Dog Franchise Systems, LLC
Ultimate parent
America's Dog Franchise, LLC (owns intellectual property)
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
Manager and President
Manolis Alpogianis
CEO experience
2015 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
IL
HQ
700 E. Grand Avenue, Suite 121, Chicago, Illinois 60611
Auditor
A&G, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$23K
vs $1K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Manolis Alpogianis
Headquarters
IL
Founded
2015
FDD year
2024
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a quick-service restaurants franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$290K – $694KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $40K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$30K$30K
Lease Deposit and rent for 3 months$12K$25K
Blue prints, plans, and permits$10K$20K
Leasehold Improvements$113K$390K
Furniture, Fixtures, and equipment$55K$100K
Signage and graphics (interior and exterior)$3K$15K
Office Equipment and Supplies$2K$4K
Travel and related expenses while training$20K$25K
Initial marketing campaign$5K$10K
POS Software and Hardware (including one year maintenance/support contract)$8K$13K
Initial Inventory/Supplies$4K$7K
Professional Services$2K$4K
Insurance$8K$12K
Government permits and licenses$300$750
Additional Funds$20K$40K
Total initial investment$290K$694K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$290K – $694K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$0
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$4K – $7K
Total fee load7.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross revenue
Sample sizeNot extracted

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $290K–$694K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$522K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands. We omit it from rankings.

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Item 19 · by group

What the filing does disclose

Item 19 of this FDD reports performance in more than one group. We publish no single average for this brand; the groups the filing does disclose are listed below, quoted from its own Item 19 table.

Each row below is quoted from the FDD's own Item 19 table. Gross sales are not profit.

Outlet subset

Item 19 detail

affiliate owned

SegmentSampleAvg
Navy Pier (affiliate-owned)1$1.6M
O'Hare Airport (affiliate-owned)1$2.9M

licensed

SegmentSampleAvg
Midway Airport (licensed)1$200K

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How America’s Dog & Burger Compares

Metric
America’s Dog & Burger
Category median
vs median
Investment
$492K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
3
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units3Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
3
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
33%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.33 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2021
0
Franchised units
2022
0±0
Franchised units
2023
1+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage41Verdict score 41/100

Early-stage micro-franchise with unproven unit economics, no earnings disclosure, zero territorial protection, and minimal system scale—unsuitable for risk-averse investors seeking established franchise stability.

Low confidence±15 pts
2656

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · A&G, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.0MYr 2: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2023 total revenues of $23,238 comprise franchise and license fee revenue of $13,239 and royalty revenue of $9,999. Net loss for the year was $24,253; the franchisor has a members' deficit of $(118,508). Financial statements are unaudited interim (5/31/2024) plus audited statements for years ended 12/31/2023, 2022, 2021. The notes to the FY2023 statements say the company's losses and its dependence on funding from its owners raised substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern, and that management concluded a funding commitment alleviates that doubt. The auditor's report is unmodified and carries no going-concern section.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 3 units in system with unknown/likely stagnant growth trajectory raises sustainability concerns
  2. 02MEDNet income not disclosed in FDD Item 19 prevents accurate ROI validation and profitability assessment
  3. 03MINORNo territorial protection allows franchisor or competitors to saturate franchisee's market
  4. 04MINORWide investment range ($289K-$694K) suggests inconsistent unit economics or undefined buildout standards
  5. 05MEDMicro-system size (3 units) indicates limited operational track record and high execution risk
  6. 06MINORUnproven franchise model with minimal comparable unit performance data available

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 145 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training148 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ1 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationChicago, IL (AAA offices in city where franchisor maintains principal place of business)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawIL
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
16 hrs
On-the-job training
132 hrs
Training location
Chicago, IL
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Silverware POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Silverware POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2 contacts · $49
Free preview
678-485-••••
Unlock all 2 contacts
312-593-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER franchise?

The total investment to open a AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER franchise ranges from $290K – $694K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER?

AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER is franchised by America's Dog Franchise Systems, LLC. The FDD names no parent company. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is America's Dog Franchise, LLC (owns intellectual property). Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER has 3 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent AMERICA’S DOG & BURGER, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.