Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING logo

Advantage College Planning Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesNCFranchising since 2020
BAbove averageAbove average51/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$71K – $101K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00075Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Advantage College Planning is a business services franchise helping families with college selection, applications, and financial aid. Franchisees run local practices, advising students and managing client accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING franchise requires a total initial investment of $71K – $101K, including a $40K – $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$71K – $101K
22nd pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
21st pct Business Serv…
Units
5
13th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$71K – $101K
Median $133K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $50K
Median $48K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $20K
Median $23K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
5 units
Median 39 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 3.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $71K – $101K including a $40K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 51/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Advantage College Planning Franchising, Inc.
Parent company
None (no parents or predecessors)
Predecessor
None
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
CEO
Brooke Daly
CEO experience
2009 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
North Carolina
HQ
3675 Green Level Road West, Suite 202, Apex, NC 27523
Auditor
REESE CPA LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$25K
vs $7K prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1

12 other brands on this site name None (no parents or predecessors) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Brooke Daly
Headquarters
NC
Founded
2020
FDD year
2024
States available
4

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 36% below the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$71K – $101KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $20K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown17 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$40K$50K
Construction, Leasehold Improvements, Furniture and Fixturesnot refundable$650$4K
Equipmentnot refundable$600$1K
Signage (interior and exterior)not refundable$0$200
Technology Feenot refundable$1K$1K
Computer Hardware and Softwarenot refundable$2K$4K
Opening Inventorynot refundable——
Rent Deposits$900$5K
Utility Deposits$0$200
Insurance Deposits and Premiumsnot refundable$800$2K
Pre-opening Travel Expensenot refundable$700$3K
Grand Opening Advertisingnot refundable$3K$3K
Professional Fees and Associationsnot refundable$4K$5K
Business Permits and Licensesnot refundable$100$500
Printing, Stationery and Office Suppliesnot refundable$2K$2K
Assessmentsnot refundable$150$200
Additional funds - 3 Months (Working Capital)not refundable$15K$20K
Total initial investment$71K$101K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$71K – $101K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$150
Transfer fee$20K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$0 – $0
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $71K–$101K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$103K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Business Services median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +100.0% over 3 years (2 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Advantage College Planning Compares

Metric
Advantage College Planning
Category median
vs median
Investment
$86K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
5
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units5Verified — printed on page 46 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+100.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
5
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
80%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+100.0%
Net unit change over 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2021
0
Franchised units
2022
2+2
Franchised units
2023
4+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 5 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 5 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

5 current owners across 5 states.

  • CA 1
  • FL 1
  • ME 1
  • NC 1
  • NY 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score51/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average51Verdict score 51/100

Early-stage, undisclosed-revenue franchise with minimal system size, opaque economics, and aggressive royalty terms presents significant execution and profitability risk.

Low confidence±15 pts
3666

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · REESE CPA LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.0MYr 2: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 51 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo financial performance data disclosed (Item 19) — cannot verify ROI claims or typical unit economics
  2. 02MINORExtremely small franchise system (5 units) with no growth trend visible — high systemic collapse risk
  3. 03MINORRoyalty structure penalizes growth: 7% of revenue OR minimum $7,500-$11,000/FTE creates unpredictable cost burden for scaling
  4. 04MINORHigh initial investment ($70.5K-$100.8K) relative to system maturity and lack of revenue benchmarks
  5. 05MINORZero franchise fee is unusual and may indicate difficulty attracting franchisees despite other incentives
  6. 06MINOR10-year term is longer than industry standard (typically 5-7 years), locking franchisee into unproven system
  7. 07MINOROnly 5 franchises operating limits ability to validate business model or access peer support network

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training27 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹDefined by zip codes; tiered by population (Tier 1: 1,000,000+; Tier 2: 500,000-999,999; Tier 3: up to 499,999)
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window45 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationRaleigh, North Carolina
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNC
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
27 hrs
On-the-job training
19 hrs
Training location
Apex, North Carolina
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee (subject to franchisor acceptance)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
CollegePlannerPro
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support

Technology: CollegePlannerPro

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

5 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 5 contacts · $49
Free preview
(925) 466-••••CA
Unlock all 5 contacts
(716) 228-••••NY
(954) 260-••••FL
(310) 750-••••ME
(919) 890-••••NC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING franchise?

The total investment to open a ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING franchise ranges from $71K – $101K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING franchise owners earn?

ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING?

ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING is franchised by Advantage College Planning Franchising, Inc.. Its parent company is None (no parents or predecessors). Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING has 5 total units in the United States, including 4 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 51 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent ADVANTAGE COLLEGE PLANNING, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.