Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
THE TEN SPOT logo

The Ten Spot Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsFranchising since 2018
DBelow averageBelow average35/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$378K – $530K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02716FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

THE TEN SPOT is a beauty franchise offering manicures, pedicures, waxing, and skincare in a modern beauty-bar setting. Franchisees run the shops, managing technicians, appointments, and retail.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A THE TEN SPOT franchise requires a total initial investment of $378K – $530K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$378K – $530K
18th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
25th pct Service Resta…
Units
4
6th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$378K – $530K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $70K
Median $43K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
4 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $378K – $530K including a $50K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 35/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Ten Spot Ltd.
Parent company
Gale Force Holdings Ltd.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
The Ten Spot USA Holdings Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Director
Kristen Gale
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
2967 Dundas St. W. #162D, Toronto, Ontario M6P 1Z2, Canada
Auditor
Dean Dorton Allen Ford, PLLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$143K
vs $239K prior year

Affiliated brands

  • The Ten Spot
  • The Ten Spot IP
  • The Ten Spot Franchising

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Kristen Gale
Founded
2018
FDD year
2025
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 33% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$378K – $530KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $70K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$50K$50K
Project Management Feenot refundable$11K$11K
Your Travel Expenses - Corporate Trainingnot refundable$0$5K
Reimbursement of our Travel Expenses - Initial On-Site Trainingnot refundable$4K$7K
Architecture, MEP Engineering and Designnot refundable$11K$20K
Construction and Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$165K$210K
Signage Package and Signage Permit(s)not refundable$15K$17K
Furniture and Equipment Package; Other FF&Enot refundable$60K$75K
Start-up Supplies & Esthetic Productsnot refundable$14K$19K
Retail Opening Inventorynot refundable$6K$8K
Marketing and Other Opening-Related Expendituresnot refundable$10K$10K
Professional and Accounting Feesnot refundable$2K$5K
Security Deposit and Rent - 3 months of operationnot refundable$8K$20K
Insurance - 3 monthsnot refundable$2K$3K
Business Licenses and Permitsnot refundable$500$1K
Additional Funds - 3 monthsnot refundable$20K$70K
Total initial investment$378K$530K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$378K – $530K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $70K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

THE TEN SPOT: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$375
Inventory (initial)$25K – $30K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

THE TEN SPOT makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one THE TEN SPOT unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $378K–$530K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$70K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$499K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 142 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System shrank 20.0% over 3 years. Ask existing franchisees about local market conditions.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How The Ten Spot Compares

Metric
The Ten Spot
Category median
vs median
Investment
$454K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
4
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units4Verified — printed on page 50 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-20.0% (worth scrutinizing)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
4
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-20.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-20.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.25 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
25.0%
Units that stopped operating
2022
4
Franchised units
2023
3-1
Franchised units
2024
4+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 3 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

3

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 7 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
7
Loan volume
$2.5M
Median loan
$382K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (7)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
5
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (7)
Verdict score35/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average35Verdict score 35/100

Multiple concerns stacked: negative franchisor net worth -$18,926, net loss -$33,751, and financial_distress flagged (not early-stage) alongside a -20% net unit decline. No Item 19 disclosure. Small system of 4 franchised units; no litigation, bankruptcy, or auditor going-concern note.

High confidence±6 pts
2941

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation information required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Dean Dorton Allen Ford, PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1MYr 2: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor's own income statement revenues (franchise fees, royalties, ad fund, tech fees), not franchisee unit-level sales.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 35 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNegative net worth -$18,926 and net loss -$33,751
  2. 02MINORFinancial distress flagged (not early-stage)
  3. 03MINORNet unit growth -20.0%
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 disclosure; only 4 units

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 142 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training278 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius0.2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ5
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation information required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
78 hrs
On-the-job training
200 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

42 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 42 contacts · $49
Free preview
416-613-••••
Unlock all 42 contacts
289-309-••••
416-901-••••
514-399-••••
905-655-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a THE TEN SPOT franchise?

The total investment to open a THE TEN SPOT franchise ranges from $378K – $530K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do THE TEN SPOT franchise owners earn?

THE TEN SPOT makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns THE TEN SPOT?

THE TEN SPOT is franchised by The Ten Spot Ltd.. Its parent company is Gale Force Holdings Ltd.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is The Ten Spot USA Holdings Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the THE TEN SPOT FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the THE TEN SPOT FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is THE TEN SPOT's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for THE TEN SPOT (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many THE TEN SPOT franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, THE TEN SPOT has 4 total units in the United States, including 4 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is THE TEN SPOT a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates THE TEN SPOT as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 35 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent THE TEN SPOT, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.