Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Port of Peri Peri logo

The Port of Peri Peri Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsILFranchising since 2019
BAbove averageAbove average65/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$225K – $500K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02694FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Port of Peri Peri is a fast-casual franchise serving flame-grilled peri-peri chicken with sides and sauces. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Port of Peri Peri franchise requires a total initial investment of $225K – $500K, including a $25K – $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$225K – $500K
31st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
22
50th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$225K – $500K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $35K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$35K – $35K
Median $33K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
22 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $225K – $500K including a $25K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 65/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +4 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 0 closed); 4 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Peri Peri Holdings LLC
Parent company
Iqbal LTD Co. and Perifection LLC (co-owners)
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Iqbal LTD Co.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
MPower Ventures LLC (formerly DJL Restaurant Enterprise LLC)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and CEO
Syed Naveed Pasha
CEO experience
20 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
100 East Roosevelt Road, Villa Park, Illinois 60181
Auditor
Schultz & Chez, L.L.P.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.0M
vs $1.3M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Syed Naveed Pasha
Headquarters
IL
Founded
2019
FDD year
2025
States available
11

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 25% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$225K – $500KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$35K – $35K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

The Port of Peri Peri: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$35K$35K
Equipment, build-out, other$165K$440K
Total initial investment$225K$500K

Source: The Port of Peri Peri 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$225K – $500K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$35K – $35K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Port of Peri Peri: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$350
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$6K – $12K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Port of Peri Peri makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Port of Peri Peri unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $225K–$500K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $35K–$35K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$398K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How The Port of Peri Peri Compares

Metric
The Port of Peri Peri
Category median
vs median
Investment
$363K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
22
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units22Verified — printed on page 65 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
22
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
91%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
4
0.18 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
13.6%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
4.5%
Units that stopped operating
2022
15
Franchised units
2023
16+1
Franchised units
2024
20+4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 11 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 11 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Hawaii
  • Michigan
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

15 current owners across 9 states; 6 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • IL 5
  • CA 2
  • TX 2
  • IN 1
  • MA 1
  • MI 1
  • MO 1
  • NJ 1
  • OK 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$150K
Median loan
$150K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score65/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average65Verdict score 65/100

One concluded Item 3 litigation matter (NJ Franchise Practices Act/fraud suit against predecessor, settled April 2020) plus no Item 19 disclosure. Financials are positive (net worth $478,764, net income $344,024 on $1.1M revenue), so overall a single minor concern.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
5575

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Ismail, et al. v. MPower LLC, et al. (No. 19-cv-10547, US District Court for the District of New Jersey). Former franchisee sued for rescission and violations of New Jersey Franchise Practices Act, fraud, misrepresentation, and breach of contract. Settled April 26, 2020 for $67,000 with agreement to terminate agreements and mutual release.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Schultz & Chez, L.L.P.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.0MYr 2: $1.3MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited financial statements are for Peri Peri Holdings LLC (the franchisor) as of and for the year ended December 31, 2022, audited by Schultz & Chez, L.L.P. Figures in whole US dollars. Total revenue of $1,101,668 comprises royalty income $454,543, sales and product income $591,764, and other income $55,361. The FDD also includes an unaudited May 31, 2025 QuickBooks balance sheet for the same entity, which was NOT used.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 65 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHOne concluded litigation matter (settled 2020, against predecessor)
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINORPositive financials: net worth $478,764, net income $344,024

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training57 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius5 mi
Territory population30,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ2
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawIllinois
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Ismail, et al. v. MPower LLC, et al. (No. 19-cv-10547, US District Court for the District of New Jersey). Former franchisee sued for rescission and violations of New Jersey Franchise Practices Act, fraud, misrepresentation, and breach of contract. Settled April 26, 2020 for $67,000 with agreement to terminate agreements and mutual release.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
10 hrs
On-the-job training
47 hrs
Training location
Franchisor location and on-site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Clover POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Clover POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

21 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 21 contacts · $49
Free preview
(630) 410-••••IL
Unlock all 21 contacts
(781) 626-••••MA
(972) 423-••••TX
(574) 222-••••IN
(224) 424-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Port of Peri Peri franchise?

The total investment to open a The Port of Peri Peri franchise ranges from $225K – $500K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Port of Peri Peri franchise owners earn?

The Port of Peri Peri makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Port of Peri Peri?

The Port of Peri Peri is franchised by Peri Peri Holdings LLC. Its parent company is Iqbal LTD Co. and Perifection LLC (co-owners). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Iqbal LTD Co.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Port of Peri Peri FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Port of Peri Peri FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Port of Peri Peri's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Port of Peri Peri (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Port of Peri Peri franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Port of Peri Peri has 22 total units in the United States, including 20 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Port of Peri Peri a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Port of Peri Peri as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 65 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Port of Peri Peri, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.