Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Alley logo

The Alley Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsNVFranchising since 2021
BAbove averageAbove average58/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$400K – $743K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02593Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

The Alley is a bubble tea franchise known for its signature brown sugar deerioca boba and specialty teas. Franchisees run the shops, managing drink prep, ingredient inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Alley franchise requires a total initial investment of $400K – $743K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$400K – $743K
64th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
90th pct Service Resta…
Units
9
35th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$400K – $743K
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$18K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
9 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
12.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $400K – $743K including a $50K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 58/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +4 franchised outlets in the latest year (7 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Alley LLC
CEO title
Chairman/CEO
Mao-Ting Chiu
Incorporated in
Nevada
HQ
3271 E Warm Springs Rd., Las Vegas, Nevada 89120
Auditor
Chen & Fan Accountancy Corporation
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$232K
vs $456K prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Nova Concept
  • Aveeka

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Mao-Ting Chiu
Headquarters
NV
Founded
2020
FDD year
2024
States available
6

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 18% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$400K – $743KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$18K – $30K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Item 7 total vs its own lines

The filing's Item 7 TOTAL row prints $400,000 to $743,000. Its own line items add to $412,000 to $779,000. The total is shown as the franchisor printed it; the lines are listed as printed. Franchise Agreement table (p18-19, TOTAL ESTIMATE $400,000 - $743,000 = headline); a second table for the Area Development Agreement (p21-22) prints TOTAL ESTIMATE $450,000 - $968,000 and is not transcribed.

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$50K$50K
Rent - 1st Month$18K$54K
Lease & Utility Security Deposit$7K$25K
Design & Architect Fees$10K$15K
Leasehold Improvements$150K$350K
Building Materials$30K$50K
Signage$4K$8K
Equipment$35K$70K
Furniture and Fixtures Office Set Up$5K$10K
Point of Sale & Computer Equipment Internet, Phone, Security$7K$12K
Business Licenses & Permits$4K$5K
Professional Fees$3K$5K
Insurance - 3 Months$3K$5K
Initial Inventory$40K$50K
Initial Training (Excluding Travel and Living expenses)$15K$15K
Grand Opening Marketing$15K$20K
Staff Travel Expenses Prior to Opening or During Grand Opening$0$5K
Additional Funds - 3-months$18K$30K
Total initial investment$412K$779K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$400K – $743K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$18K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Alley: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$500
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$40K – $50K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Alley makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Alley unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $400K–$743K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $18K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$595K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +80.0% over 3 years (7 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How The Alley Compares

Metric
The Alley
Category median
vs median
Investment
$572K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
9
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units9Verified — printed on page 55 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+80.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate12.5% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
9
Opened
7
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
12.5%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
89%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+80.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+80.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
31
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
16.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2021
3
Franchised units
2022
4+1
Franchised units
2023
8+4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Maryland
  • Michigan

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

9 current owners across 4 states.

  • CA 4
  • TX 3
  • AZ 1
  • CO 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 6 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
6
Loan volume
$3.5M
Median loan
$563K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (6)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
6
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (6)
Verdict score58/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average58Verdict score 58/100

Young bubble-tea franchisor (2021) with 9 units flagged for early-stage financial distress. No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern; financials audited. System is growing (net growth +80%) with low turnover (12.5%). Net worth and income not disclosed. No Item 19.

Moderate confidence±9 pts
4967

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Chen & Fan Accountancy Corporation

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 audited financial statements are attached in Exhibit D (audited as of Dec 31, 2023/2022/2021) but the exhibit pages are scanned images with no extractable text; no balance sheet, income statement figures, or auditor/CPA firm name are present in the document text. All Item 21 financial figures null.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 58 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19; net worth/income not disclosed
  2. 02MINOR9 units, growing +80%, turnover 12.5%
  3. 03MINORNo litigation/bankruptcy/going-concern; audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training169 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ3
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Territory population250,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationLas Vegas, Nevada
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNevada
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
16 hrs
On-the-job training
153 hrs
Training location
On-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
joint
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

9 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 9 contacts · $49
Free preview
832-437-••••TX
Unlock all 9 contacts
214-680-••••TX
424-653-••••CA
303-865-••••CO
916-835-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Alley franchise?

The total investment to open a The Alley franchise ranges from $400K – $743K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Alley franchise owners earn?

The Alley makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Alley?

The Alley is franchised by The Alley LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Alley FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Alley FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Alley's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Alley (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Alley franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Alley has 9 total units in the United States, including 8 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 7 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Alley a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Alley as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 58 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Alley, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.