Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Taco Bell Express logo

Taco Bell Express Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 1964
AStrongest tierStrongest tier74/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$288K – $858K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
6.1%
on 160 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02538FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Taco Bell Express is the small-format, limited-menu version of Taco Bell for non-traditional venues like airports, gas stations, and campuses. Franchisees run a compact counter serving core Taco Bell items with reduced overhead.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Taco Bell Express franchise requires a total initial investment of $288K – $858K, including a $23K franchise fee and an ongoing 10.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 6.1% charge-off rate across 160 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$288K – $858K
12th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
10.0%
38th pct Service Resta…
Units
235
35th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
6.1%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$288K – $858K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$23K – $23K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $20K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
10.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
6.1%
160 loans · Median 12.2%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
235 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
4.7%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $288K – $858K including a $23K franchise fee, 10.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 74/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 6.1% across 160 loans (near or below the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -3 franchised outlets in the latest year (8 opened, 11 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Taco Bell Franchisor, LLC
Parent company
Taco Bell Franchisor Holdings, LLC (TB Holder)
Ultimate parent
YUM! Brands, Inc.
Predecessor
Taco Bell Corp. (TBC)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Sean Tresvant
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
1 Glen Bell Way, Irvine, California 92618
Auditor
KPMG LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$793.4M
vs $727.3M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • and a wholly owned subsidiary of TBC
  • operates or franchises

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1

4 other brands on this site name YUM! Brands, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Sean Tresvant
Headquarters
CA
Founded
1962
FDD year
2026
States available
38

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 15% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$288K – $858KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$22,500Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty10.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$10K – $20K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Taco Bell Express: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$23K$23K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$10K$20K
Equipment, build-out, other$255K$815K
Total initial investment$288K$858K

Source: Taco Bell Express 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$288K – $858K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$23K – $23K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
10.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
No advertising fund contribution required; no marketing f…
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Taco Bell Express: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty10.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$750
Training fee$350
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$11K
Inventory (initial)$3K – $9K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Taco Bell Express makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Taco Bell Express unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $288K–$858K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$588K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — above the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (-0.4% 3-year CAGR) with 235 units.

Multi-unit rate

Only 13% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Taco Bell Express Compares

Metric
Taco Bell Express
Category median
vs median
Investment
$573K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
235
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units235Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 57 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+0.8% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate4.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
235
Opened
8
Last reporting year
Closed
11
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
5
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
4.7%
Company-owned
14
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
94%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
12.5%
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-0.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
5
Transferred
7
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
9
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
2.9%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
1.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
4.6%
Units that stopped operating
2023
229
Franchised units
2024
224-5
Franchised units
2025
221-3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 15 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 15 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

35 current owners across 15 states.

  • CA 10
  • TX 4
  • GA 3
  • NC 3
  • NY 3
  • CT 2
  • PA 2
  • AZ 1
  • CO 1
  • FL 1
  • NV 1
  • OH 1
  • +3 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 6.1% charge-off
Total loans
160
Loan volume
$88.5M
Median loan
$553K
average
Charge-off rate
6.1%
on 160 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
59
Defaults
7

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 6.1% — 62% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off6.1% · 160 loans
Verdict score74/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier74Verdict score 74/100

Long-established (franchising since 1964), audited, zero litigation, no bankruptcy, strong parent-level financials with net worth $53.3M and net income $729M. The only concern is no Item 19 earnings disclosure. 238-unit system, essentially flat growth (-0.4%).

High confidence±4 pts
7078

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · KPMG LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $793.4MYr 2: $727.3MNon-royalty: $63.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Financials are of Taco Bell Franchisor, LLC (the licensor entity), reflecting systemwide franchise/license fee and royalty revenue, not a single-unit or Express-segment P&L

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 74 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  2. 02MINORZero litigation, no bankruptcy
  3. 03MINORStrong financials: net worth $53.3M, net income $729M
  4. 04MINORAudited financials

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training416 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ3
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNew York
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
8 hrs
On-the-job training
408 hrs
Training location
Approved Company Owned Unit
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
350 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
5 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Both - licensee proposes site, subject to licensor market plan approval; YRSG offers optional real estate services
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Annspire
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Annspire

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

36 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 36 contacts · $49
Free preview
(303) 478-••••CO
Unlock all 36 contacts
(404) 502-••••GA
(281) 201-••••TX
(780) 462-••••
(717) 586-••••PA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Taco Bell Express franchise?

The total investment to open a Taco Bell Express franchise ranges from $288K – $858K, with an initial franchise fee of $23K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Taco Bell Express franchise owners earn?

Taco Bell Express makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Taco Bell Express?

Taco Bell Express is franchised by Taco Bell Franchisor, LLC. Its parent company is Taco Bell Franchisor Holdings, LLC (TB Holder). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is YUM! Brands, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Taco Bell Express FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Taco Bell Express FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Taco Bell Express's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Taco Bell Express has a charge-off rate of 6.1% across 160 loans, meaning 6.1% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Taco Bell Express franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Taco Bell Express has 235 total units in the United States, including 221 franchised units and 14 company-owned units. 8 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Taco Bell Express a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Taco Bell Express as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 74 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Taco Bell Express, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.