Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Candy Cloud logo

Candy Cloud Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Formerly known as Cloud Kitchens

Full-Service RestaurantsILFranchising since 2022
CAverageAverage44/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$389K – $749K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Limited · 13 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00448FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Candy Cloud is a dessert and drink franchise serving specialty shakes, boba tea, coffee, and ice cream. Franchisees run the shops, managing drink and dessert prep, inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Candy Cloud franchise requires a total initial investment of $389K – $749K, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$389K – $749K
18th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Incl. company outletsPartial period
Royalty
6.0%
25th pct Service Resta…
Units
13
16th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$389K – $749K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $40K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $20K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 13 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 13 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
13 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $389K – $749K including a $40K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports Average Monthly Gross Sales for 7 franchised outlets (avg $71,973/mo, high $130,556/mo, low $28,875/mo) x12 = annualized figures used; separate corporate-unit figures reported (avg/high/low $106,031/mo, one unit). Figures exclude Royalty and Brand Fund Contributions.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 44/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 29 agreements signed but not yet open against 13 open outlets (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports historical franchise + affiliate outlet gross sales rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Candy Cloud Franchising LLC
Parent company
Candy Cloud Holdings LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
CEO
Alex Edwards
CEO experience
9 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Illinois
HQ
9934 N Alpine Road, Suite 100, Machesney Park, IL 61115
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$753K
vs $302K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Alex Edwards
Headquarters
IL
Founded
2022
FDD year
2025
States available
6

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 16% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$389K – $749KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Candy Cloud: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$20K
Equipment, build-out, other$334K$689K
Total initial investment$389K$749K

Source: Candy Cloud 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$389K – $749K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Candy Cloud: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$200
Transfer fee$20K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $15K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typepartial-period revenue
Sample size7

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Candy Cloud is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Candy Cloud unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $389K–$749K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$587K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 reports Average Monthly Gross Sales for 7 franchised outlets (avg $71,973/mo, high $130,556/mo, low $28,875/mo) x12 = annualized figures used; separate corporate-unit figures reported (avg/high/low $106,031/mo, one unit). Figures exclude Royalty and Brand Fund Contributions.

Includes company-owned outlets

Covers a partial period, not a full year

Item 19 type
partial-period revenue
Sample size
7
vs category median 18 · small
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
The FDD edition these figures were read from
Transparency
3 / 10
vs category median 3 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank18th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank25th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank16th
vs Full-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank51th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 801 Full-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 162 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports historical franchise + affiliate outlet gross sales rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System expanding at 1100.0% CAGR over 3 years across 13 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Candy Cloud Compares

Metric
Candy Cloud
Category median
vs median
Investment
$569K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
13
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units13Verified — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growthOutlier (see FDD) (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
13
Opened
7
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
92%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
29
2.23 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
14
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
5+5
Franchised units
2024
12+7
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 6 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

6

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • IL 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
13
Loan volume
$4.6M
Median loan
$370K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 13 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 13 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 13 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 13 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
5
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
9.3%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
10.6%
n=3,755 loans
Jobs supported
159
4.1 per loan
Lender concentration
50%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 92% went to startups / new businesses, 8% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in snack and nonalcoholic beverage bars, franchised businesses charge off at 10.6% vs 8.9% for independents — franchising is associated with 19% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Candy Cloud franchisees

The Huntington National Bank6 loans—
St. Charles Bank & Trust Company, National Association3 loans—
Magnifi Financial CU1 loans—

Showing 3 of 5 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$700K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
11

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Candy Cloud from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
67%
Avg interest rate
9.26%
Lender concentration
50.0%
Job velocity
4.1 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
7.0%
NAICS 722515
Jobs supported
159

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 50% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1The Huntington National Bank6$1.3MN/A
2St. Charles Bank & Trust Company, National Association3$1.4MN/A
3Magnifi Financial CU1$394KN/A
4Byline Bank1$517KN/A
5Midland States Bank1$257KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
ILIllinois50--
FLFlorida20--
NJNew Jersey20--
OHOhio20--
WIWisconsin10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2023
2
2025
10

Borrower profile

Startup7 (58%)
New (< 2 yr)4 (33%)
Existing (2+ yr)1 (8%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 13 loans
Verdict score44/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage44Verdict score 44/100

Candy Cloud presents moderate-to-cautious risk due to undisclosed profitability metrics, aggressive growth trajectory, high royalty burden relative to disclosed revenues, and an embryonic franchise system with minimal franchisee validation pool.

High confidence±4 pts
4048

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.8MYr 2: $0.3MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 44 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNet Income not disclosed in FDD Item 19 — unable to validate profitability claims or ROI timeline
  2. 02MINORHigh investment-to-revenue ratio: $389K-$749K initial investment vs. $71,973 average weekly revenue creates unclear payback period
  3. 03MINORExplosive unit growth of 140% YoY is unsustainable and suggests either aggressive recruiting or potential instability; needs validation of unit retention rates
  4. 04MINOR6% royalty on gross (not net) revenue is aggressive and reduces margins; at $71,973/week, this equals ~$22,491/month in royalties alone
  5. 05MED13-unit system is extremely small and immature; limited operational data, high failure risk, and insufficient franchisee base for validation

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 162 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training95 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice5 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationWinnebago County, Illinois
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawIllinois
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
80 hrs
Training location
Rockford, Illinois (or other location designated by Franchisor)
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
6 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisor_approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(815) 264-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Candy Cloud franchise?

The total investment to open a Candy Cloud franchise ranges from $389K – $749K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Candy Cloud franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Candy Cloud FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Candy Cloud?

Candy Cloud is franchised by Candy Cloud Franchising LLC. Its parent company is Candy Cloud Holdings LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Candy Cloud FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Candy Cloud FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Candy Cloud's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Candy Cloud (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Candy Cloud franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Candy Cloud has 13 total units in the United States, including 12 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 7 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Candy Cloud a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Candy Cloud as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 44 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Candy Cloud, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.