Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Pizza Schmizza logo

Pizza Schmizza Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsORFranchising since 2001
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$204K – $532K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01972FDD 2026Data QualityStandard71%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Pizza Schmizza is a pizza franchise serving pizza by the slice and whole pies, plus Italian fare, for dine-in and takeout. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Pizza Schmizza franchise requires a total initial investment of $204K – $532K, including a $39K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$204K – $532K
24th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
16
46th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$204K – $532K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$39K – $39K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $35K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
16 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $204K – $532K including a $39K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed); 2 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Schmizza International, Inc.
Parent company
None (formerly a subsidiary of Figaro's Italian Pizza, Inc.; separated January 2, 2014)
CEO title
Chairman/CEO/President
Ron Berger
Incorporated in
OR
HQ
1500 Liberty Street SE, Suite 160, Salem, Oregon 97302
Auditor
SingerLewak LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$814K
vs $880K prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1

12 other brands on this site name None (formerly a subsidiary of Figaro's Italian Pizza, Inc.; separated January 2, 2014) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Ron Berger
Headquarters
OR
Founded
1993
FDD year
2026
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 24% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$204K – $532KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$39,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $35K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Pizza Schmizza: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$39K$39K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$35K
Equipment, build-out, other$150K$458K
Total initial investment$204K$532K

Source: Pizza Schmizza 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$204K – $532K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$39K – $39K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Pizza Schmizza: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$16K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$5K – $9K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Pizza Schmizza makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Pizza Schmizza unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $204K–$532K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$35K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$393K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -5.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Pizza Schmizza Compares

Metric
Pizza Schmizza
Category median
vs median
Investment
$368K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
16
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units16Verified — printed on page 66 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-5.9% (worth scrutinizing)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
16
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-5.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-5.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
0.13 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
17
Franchised units
2024
16-1
Franchised units
2025
16±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 6 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
6
Loan volume
$1.4M
Median loan
$223K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (6)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
4
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (6)
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Small pizza franchise with zero financial transparency, unprotected territories, and minimal system scale creates elevated risk of poor unit economics and limited franchisor support.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±9 pts
4765

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · SingerLewak LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.8MYr 2: $0.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenue of $814,056 for fiscal year 2025 is disclosed in the Item 8 narrative as "shown on our 2025 audited financial statement" for Schmizza International, Inc. The audited financial statements in Exhibit A (FDD pages 72-107) are image-only in the source text and did not OCR, so no balance-sheet figures (assets, liabilities, net worth), net income, auditor name, or prior-year revenue could be extracted. Only the total-revenue figure stated in the Item 8 body is available.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial performance data disclosed — impossible to validate ROI claims or benchmark profitability
  2. 02MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; multiple franchisees could cannibalize each other's revenue in same area
  3. 03MEDTiny system of only 16 units with unknown growth trajectory suggests weak brand recognition and limited support infrastructure
  4. 04MINORRoyalty floor of $150/week ($7,800/year) creates fixed burden even if revenue is low; at $300K revenue, 6% royalty = $18K/year total
  5. 05MINOR10-year term is long commitment given unproven growth and small unit count — difficult to exit if franchise underperforms

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training280 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationMarion County, Oregon (mediation; not mandatory arbitration)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawOR
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
8 hrs
On-the-job training
272 hrs
Training location
Existing Schmizza store in Portland, Oregon area or another designated location; corporate headquarters for academic training
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Pizza Schmizza franchise?

The total investment to open a Pizza Schmizza franchise ranges from $204K – $532K, with an initial franchise fee of $39K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Pizza Schmizza franchise owners earn?

Pizza Schmizza makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Pizza Schmizza?

Pizza Schmizza is franchised by Schmizza International, Inc.. Its parent company is None (formerly a subsidiary of Figaro's Italian Pizza, Inc.; separated January 2, 2014). Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Pizza Schmizza FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Pizza Schmizza FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Pizza Schmizza's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Pizza Schmizza (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Pizza Schmizza franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Pizza Schmizza has 16 total units in the United States, including 16 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Pizza Schmizza a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Pizza Schmizza as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Pizza Schmizza, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.