Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Del's Popcorn Shop logo

Del's Popcorn Shop Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsILFranchising since 2021
DBelow averageBelow average34/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$279K – $478K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00730Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Del's Popcorn Shop is a snack retail franchise selling fresh flavored popcorn and confections. Franchisees run the shops, managing production, inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Del's Popcorn Shop franchise requires a total initial investment of $279K – $478K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2023 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored6 of 6 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$279K – $478K
44th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Company-owned only2 outlets
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
2
9th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$279K – $478K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$8K – $57K
Median $33K
near median
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
42.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
2 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $279K – $478K including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 34/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Del's Popcorn Shop Development, LLC
CEO title
Managing Member
Rachelle (Shellie) Jacobs
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
IL
HQ
3013 Lindbergh Boulevard, Suite B, Springfield, Illinois 62704
Auditor
LMHN, Ltd.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$69K
vs $68K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Rachelle (Shellie) Jacobs
Headquarters
IL
Founded
2019
FDD year
2023
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 22% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$279K – $478KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$8K – $57K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Del's Popcorn Shop: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$8K$57K
Equipment, build-out, other$241K$391K
Total initial investment$279K$478K

Source: Del's Popcorn Shop 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$279K – $478K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$8K – $57K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
42.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Del's Popcorn Shop: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of net sales
Marketing / ad fund1.5% of net sales
Technology fee$35
Transfer fee$23K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$24K – $27K
Total fee load42.5% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales
Sample size2 outlets

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Del's Popcorn Shop is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Del's Popcorn Shop unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $279K–$478K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $8K–$57K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$412K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Based on only 2 outlets

Item 19 type
gross sales
Sample size
2 outlets
vs category median 19 · small
Range (low → high)
$548K→$665KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 52 of the 2023 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2022
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2023
Disclosed in the 2023 filing, covering 2022
Transparency
6 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank44th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank48th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank9th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank93th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 42.5% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Del's Popcorn Shop Compares

Metric
Del's Popcorn Shop
Category median
vs median
Investment
$379K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
2
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2Verified — printed on page 53 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
0
Franchised units
2021
0±0
Franchised units
2022
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score34/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average34Verdict score 34/100
Low confidence±19 pts
1553

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · LMHN, Ltd.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1MYr 2: $0.1MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures from the audited financial statements of Del's Popcorn Shop Development, LLC (the franchisor, an Illinois LLC taxed as an S corp), for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022. Single entity; no parent/guarantor presented. Total Revenue of $68,618 = royalty fees $68,568 + sale of proprietary merchandise $50 (franchise/advertising/brand development fees were $0). other_revenue ($50) is sale of proprietary merchandise. Balance sheet reconciles: total assets $147,751 = total liabilities $0 + total members' equity $147,751. Net loss $(13,715). Statements presented in whole US dollars (no scaling). Prior-year (2021) revenue not separately presented in this 2022 statement (only members' equity beginning-of-year of $161,466 shown), so no prior-year revenue is shown.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 34 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 2 units in system with unknown growth trajectory indicates nascent/stagnant franchise model
  2. 02MEDNet income not disclosed in Item 19 prevents ROI validation against $279k-$478k investment
  3. 03MED6% royalty on undisclosed net income makes it impossible to model actual franchisee profitability

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 42.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training168 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population75,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice5 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFranchisor's headquarters (Springfield, IL)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawIL
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
76 hrs
On-the-job training
92 hrs
Training location
Springfield, IL (affiliate-owned Del's Popcorn Shop location)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee finds site subject to franchisor approval within 120 days of signing Franchise Agreement
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast, Inc.
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast, Inc.

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Del's Popcorn Shop franchise?

The total investment to open a Del's Popcorn Shop franchise ranges from $279K – $478K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Del's Popcorn Shop franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Del's Popcorn Shop FDD discloses outlet figures from $548K to $665K but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Del's Popcorn Shop?

Del's Popcorn Shop is franchised by Del's Popcorn Shop Development, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Del's Popcorn Shop FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Del's Popcorn Shop FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Del's Popcorn Shop's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Del's Popcorn Shop (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Del's Popcorn Shop franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Del's Popcorn Shop has 2 total units in the United States.

Is Del's Popcorn Shop a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Del's Popcorn Shop as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 34 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Del's Popcorn Shop, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.