Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Criterium Engineers logo

Criterium Engineers Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesMEFranchising since 1989
AStrongest tierStrongest tier76/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$75K – $174K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (4)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00667FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Criterium Engineers is a professional engineering franchise providing building inspections, assessments, and consulting for owners, buyers, and HOAs. Franchisees run local practices, managing engineers and delivering inspection reports.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Criterium Engineers franchise requires a total initial investment of $75K – $174K, including a $55K – $85K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2026 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - the current year's filing

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 6 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$75K – $174K
25th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subset
Royalty
6.0%
9th pct Business Serv…
Units
31
28th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$75K – $174K
Median $133K
near median
Franchise Fee
$55K – $85K
Median $48K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$12K – $48K
Median $23K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (4)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 4 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
31 units
Median 39 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
6.9%
Median 3.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $75K – $174K including a $55K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 76/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -6.5% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Coast to Coast Engineering Services, Inc.
Predecessor
Coast to Coast Inspection Services, Inc. (formerly Home Inspection Consultants)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and Director
David E. Leopold
Incorporated in
ME
HQ
5 Depot Street, Suite 23, Freeport, ME 04032
Auditor
The Swanson Group LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$8.4M
vs $7.5M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
David E. Leopold
Headquarters
ME
Founded
1989
FDD year
2026
States available
22

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a business services franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$75K – $174KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$54,500Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$12K – $48K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Criterium Engineers: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$55K$55K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$12K$48K
Equipment, build-out, other$9K$72K
Total initial investment$75K$174K

Source: Criterium Engineers 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$75K – $174K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$12K – $48K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$55K – $85K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Criterium Engineers: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$0
Transfer fee$0
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$250 – $3K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales
Sample size32

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Criterium Engineers is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Criterium Engineers unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $75K–$174K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $12K–$48K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$155K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Item 19 type
gross sales
Sample size
32
vs category median 37
Range (low → high)
$17K→$1.2MNot cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Transparency
3 / 10
vs category median 3 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank25th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank9th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank28th
vs Business Services peers
Risk score rank10th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 296 Business Services brands

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Business Services median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Operator retention

System contracting at -6.5% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Criterium Engineers Compares

Metric
Criterium Engineers
Category median
vs median
Investment
$125K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
31
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units31Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 70 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+3.2% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate6.9% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
31
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Turnover rate
6.9%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+3.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-6.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
31
Franchised units
2024
31±0
Franchised units
2025
30-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 21 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 21 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

31 current owners across 21 states.

  • TX 4
  • CO 3
  • AL 2
  • GA 2
  • NV 2
  • OH 2
  • WA 2
  • DE 1
  • FL 1
  • IL 1
  • MA 1
  • MD 1
  • +9 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 4 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
4
Loan volume
$1.3M
Median loan
$298K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (4)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 4 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (4)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (4)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (4)
Verdict score76/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier76Verdict score 76/100

Declining unit base, withheld profitability data, high relative fees, and unclear franchisor financial health create material investment risk despite protected territories.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
6686

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · The Swanson Group LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $8.4MYr 2: $7.5MTotal: $8.6MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated statements of Coast to Coast Engineering Services, Inc. d/b/a Criterium Engineers and Affiliate. Total revenues of $8,437,019 (FY2024) are dominated by contract and project revenues ($7,556,573); total franchise revenues were only $880,446 (franchise fees $9,950, royalties and other fees $810,967, administrative services and other $59,529). Most recent audited statements in the FDD are as of December 31, 2024 with comparative 2023 (the cover references FY2025 but no FY2025 statements appear in the provided text).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 76 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 6.5% year-over-year (29 units; suggests system contraction or franchisee struggles)
  2. 02MEDNet income not disclosed in FDD Item 19 (prevents accurate ROI calculation and raises transparency concerns)
  3. 03MINORRoyalty structure requires $5,000/month minimum ($60,000 annually) even at lower revenue levels, constraining profitability
  4. 04MINORSmall system size (29 units) means less brand recognition, shared resources, and higher vulnerability to economic downturns

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training90 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population1,000,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationPortland, Maine
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawME
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
54 hrs
On-the-job training
36 hrs
Training location
Virtually via Zoom or at franchisor offices and franchisee location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor approves within one week
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

31 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 31 contacts · $49
Free preview
(305) 250-••••FL
Unlock all 31 contacts
(410) 363-••••MD
(302) 498-••••DE
(205) 744-••••AL
(508) 589-••••MA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Criterium Engineers franchise?

The total investment to open a Criterium Engineers franchise ranges from $75K – $174K, with an initial franchise fee of $55K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Criterium Engineers franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Criterium Engineers FDD discloses outlet figures from $17K to $1.2M but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Criterium Engineers?

Criterium Engineers is franchised by Coast to Coast Engineering Services, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Criterium Engineers FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Criterium Engineers FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Criterium Engineers's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Criterium Engineers (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Criterium Engineers franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Criterium Engineers has 31 total units in the United States, including 30 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Criterium Engineers a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Criterium Engineers as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 76 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Criterium Engineers, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.