Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Crave Cookies logo

Crave Cookies Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsUTFranchising since 2021
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$328K – $705K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Limited · 13 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00654FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Crave Cookies is a quick-service franchise selling oversized gourmet cookies in rotating weekly flavors. Franchisees run the shops, managing baking, staffing, and takeout, pickup, and delivery.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Crave Cookies franchise requires a total initial investment of $328K – $705K, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored6 of 6 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$328K – $705K
53rd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
37
60th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$328K – $705K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 13 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 13 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
37 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.7%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $328K – $705K including a $40K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 84 agreements signed but not yet open against 37 open outlets (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 337.5% CAGR over 3 years with 37 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Crave Cookies Franchising, LLC
CEO title
Chief Operations Officer
Becky English
CEO experience
1 yr
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
UT
HQ
2949 Oak Park Lane, Holladay, UT 84117
Auditor
Mellor & Associates, PLLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.4M
vs $1.3M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Becky English
Headquarters
UT
Founded
2019
FDD year
2025
States available
16

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a quick-service restaurants franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$328K – $705KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$39,500Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $30K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Crave Cookies: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$30K
Equipment, build-out, other$273K$635K
Total initial investment$328K$705K

Source: Crave Cookies 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$328K – $705K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Crave Cookies: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$250
Training fee$250
Transfer fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $10K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales range
Sample size6

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Crave Cookies is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Crave Cookies unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $328K–$705K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$539K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 type
gross sales range
Sample size
6
vs category median 19 · small
Range (low → high)
$519K→$1.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 40 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
The FDD edition these figures were read from
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank53th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank48th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank60th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank35th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Operator retention

System expanding at 337.5% CAGR over 3 years across 37 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Crave Cookies Compares

Metric
Crave Cookies
Category median
vs median
Investment
$516K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
37
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units37Verified — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growthOutlier (see FDD) (caution)
Turnover rate2.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
37
Opened
15
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.7%
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
95%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
Outlier (see FDD)
Likely small-sample artifact
3-yr CAGR
Outlier (see FDD)
Likely small-sample artifact

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
84
2.27 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
43
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
16.2%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
2.7%
Units that stopped operating
2022
8
Franchised units
2023
21+13
Franchised units
2024
35+14
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 13 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 13 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

24 current owners across 13 states.

  • UT 8
  • NV 3
  • NJ 2
  • WA 2
  • AL 1
  • CA 1
  • FL 1
  • GA 1
  • ID 1
  • LA 1
  • OH 1
  • OR 1
  • +1 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
13
Loan volume
$4.5M
Median loan
$308K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 13 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 13 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 13 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 13 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
12
Defaults
1
Typical loan rate
10.4%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
10.0%
n=806 loans
Jobs supported
168
4.0 per loan
Lender concentration
17%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 100% went to startups / new businesses, 0% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in retail bakeries, franchised businesses charge off at 10.0% vs 17.6% for independents — franchising is associated with 43% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Crave Cookies franchisees

Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Company2 loans—
The Bank of Houston1 loans—
Merchants Bank of Indiana1 loans—

Showing 3 of 12 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Crave Cookies from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
5.6%
Avg SBA guarantee
75%
Avg interest rate
10.38%
Avg chargeoff amount
$232K
Lender concentration
16.7%
Job velocity
4.0 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
1.2%
NAICS 311811
Jobs supported
168

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 17% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Gulf Coast Bank and Trust Company2$717KN/A
2The Bank of Houston1$462KN/A
3Merchants Bank of Indiana1$298KN/A
4Stearns Bank National Association1$244KN/A
5DreamSpring1$300KN/A
6Valley National Bank1$469KN/A
7Central Bank1$235K0.0%
8Capital Community Bank1$297K100.0%
9Sunshine State Economic Development Corporation1$315KN/A
10Canyon View Federal Credit Union1$350KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
FLFlorida40--
UTUtah4150.0%
AZArizona10--
ILIllinois10--
NJNew Jersey10--
TXTexas10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2022
2
2023
3
2024
5
2025
2

Borrower profile

Startup10 (83%)
New (< 2 yr)2 (17%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 13 loans
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100
High confidence±4 pts
5260

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

1 pending (Crave Cookies LLC v. D&G Ownership Group, arbitration, Feb 2025, settlement negotiations); 1 prior (Crave Cookies LLC v. Boman Cookies, arbitration, found in favor of Crave); 1 prior (Crumbl LLC v. Crave Cookies, D. Utah 2022, dismissed by stipulated motion)

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Mellor & Associates, PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.4MYr 2: $1.3MNon-royalty: $1.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

During 2024, the Company had total revenues of $2,413,050 of which $1,277,704 are considered deferred until the company fulfills its obligations. Detailed audited balance sheet and income statement tables in Exhibit F are image-based and not extractable from text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial disclosures (Avg Revenue and Net Income not disclosed) prevents ROI validation and comparability across units
  2. 02MINORPending arbitration with D&G Ownership Group suggests current franchisee disputes; outcome and nature of claims unknown
  3. 03MED67% YoY unit growth appears strong but absolute unit count of 37 indicates early-stage system with limited operational track record and higher failure risk
  4. 04MEDHigh initial investment range ($327k–$704k) with undisclosed profitability creates misalignment between capital required and potential returns
  5. 05HIGHTwo litigation cases (one pending, one won by franchisor) indicate franchisee-franchisor relationship friction despite small unit base
  6. 06MINOR6% royalty on unreported gross sales lacks benchmarking; unclear if sustainable given unknown unit economics

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training73 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius5 mi
Territory population87,500
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationUtah
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawUT
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

1 pending (Crave Cookies LLC v. D&G Ownership Group, arbitration, Feb 2025, settlement negotiations); 1 prior (Crave Cookies LLC v. Boman Cookies, arbitration, found in favor of Crave); 1 prior (Crumbl LLC v. Crave Cookies, D. Utah 2022, dismissed by stipulated motion)

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
31 hrs
On-the-job training
42 hrs
Training location
Holladay, UT or franchisee location or virtual
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Square POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Square POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

24 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 24 contacts · $49
Free preview
(208) 860-••••ID
Unlock all 24 contacts
(253) 260-••••WA
(435) 647-••••TN
(385) 900-••••UT
(856) 818-••••NJ

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Crave Cookies franchise?

The total investment to open a Crave Cookies franchise ranges from $328K – $705K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Crave Cookies franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Crave Cookies FDD discloses outlet figures from $519K to $1.3M but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Crave Cookies?

Crave Cookies is franchised by Crave Cookies Franchising, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Crave Cookies FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Crave Cookies FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Crave Cookies's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Crave Cookies (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Crave Cookies franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Crave Cookies has 37 total units in the United States, including 35 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 15 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Crave Cookies a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Crave Cookies as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Crave Cookies, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.