Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Aunt Millie’s Bakeries logo

Aunt Millie’s Bakeries Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsINFranchising since 2006
CAverageAverage43/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$37K – $186K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00202FDD 2026Data QualityStandard62%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Aunt Millie's Bakeries is a bakery franchise selling fresh-baked breads, buns, and pastries to consumers and foodservice accounts. Franchisees run retail and wholesale bakery operations managing baking, staffing, and distribution.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Aunt Millie’s Bakeries franchise requires a total initial investment of $37K – $186K, including a $30K – $100K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$37K – $186K
2nd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
457
88th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$37K – $186K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $100K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$330 – $3K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.5%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
457 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
22.6%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $37K – $186K including a $30K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 43/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -39 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 13 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -32.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Perfection Bakeries, Inc.
CEO title
Director, President, and Chief Executive Officer
John F. Popp
Incorporated in
IN
HQ
6230 Bluffton Road, Fort Wayne, Indiana 46809
Auditor
Crowe LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$449.2M
vs $462.7M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Perfection Distribution
  • First Capital Acceptance

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
John F. Popp
Headquarters
IN
Founded
1903
FDD year
2026
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 77% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$37K – $186KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$330 – $3K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$30K$100K
Computer Usenot refundable$455$455
Sales/Use Tax$27$39
Vehicle$3K$55K
Loan Fees to First Capital$0$800
Loan Origination Fee to DSA$0$400
Products for 1 week (Inventory)$3K$25K
Vehicle Maintenance$156$780
Initial Insurance Coveragenot refundable$520$715
Additional Funds$330$3K
Total initial investment$37K$186K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$37K – $186K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$330 – $3K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
No royalty fee. Franchisee (Distributor) earns margin by …
Ad fund
No advertising fund. Franchisee is not obligated to contr…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Aunt Millie’s Bakeries: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$35
Transfer fee$2
Inventory (initial)$3K – $25K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Aunt Millie’s Bakeries makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Aunt Millie’s Bakeries unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $37K–$186K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $330–$3K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$114K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -32.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Aunt Millie’s Bakeries Compares

Metric
Aunt Millie’s Bakeries
Category median
vs median
Investment
$112K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
457
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units457Verified — printed on page 36 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-32.4% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate22.6% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
457
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
13
Terminated
13
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
22.6%
Company-owned
342
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
25%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-32.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-32.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
13
Not renewed
0
Transferred
20
Reacquired
13
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
170
Franchised units
2024
154-16
Franchised units
2025
115-39
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 8 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 8 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

98 current owners across 8 states.

  • IL 38
  • IN 35
  • KY 8
  • MI 6
  • OH 6
  • WI 3
  • AR 1
  • NV 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score43/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage43Verdict score 43/100
Low confidence±15 pts
2858

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Crowe LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $449.2MYr 2: $462.7MNon-royalty: $3.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited consolidated statements of income of Perfection Bakeries, Inc. (parent/franchisor, dba Aunt Millie's Bakeries); fiscal year ended September 30, 2025. Net sales $449,218,205 (FY2025) vs $462,702,057 (FY2024). Other income, net of $3,874,789. Audited by Crowe LLP, opinion dated January 30, 2026.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 43 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORSystem shrinking dramatically: 457 units down 25.3% YoY indicates active closures or non-renewals
  2. 02MINORNo revenue or profitability disclosure (Item 19): Unable to verify franchisee earnings claims or validate ROI
  3. 03MEDHigh initial investment ($36,988–$186,494) with zero royalty relief and no disclosed average returns
  4. 04MINORUnknown franchise term length: Unclear renewal rights, exit strategy, or long-term commitment obligations
  5. 05MEDNo litigation disclosed but system collapse pattern suggests potential underlying disputes or franchisor mismanagement

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial termNot extracted
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial trainingNot extracted

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice3 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationCounty where principal place of business of distributor is located
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawIN
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
0 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisor designates the Sales Area
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Hand-held computer and printer (proprietary system)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Hand-held computer and printer (proprietary system)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

98 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 98 contacts · $49
Free preview
(773) 827-••••IL
Unlock all 98 contacts
(262) 234-••••WI
(574) 849-••••IN
(708) 717-••••IL
(217) 778-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Aunt Millie’s Bakeries franchise?

The total investment to open a Aunt Millie’s Bakeries franchise ranges from $37K – $186K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Aunt Millie’s Bakeries franchise owners earn?

Aunt Millie’s Bakeries makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Aunt Millie’s Bakeries?

Aunt Millie’s Bakeries is franchised by Perfection Bakeries, Inc.. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Aunt Millie’s Bakeries FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Aunt Millie’s Bakeries FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Aunt Millie’s Bakeries's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Aunt Millie’s Bakeries (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Aunt Millie’s Bakeries franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Aunt Millie’s Bakeries has 457 total units in the United States, including 115 franchised units and 342 company-owned units.

Is Aunt Millie’s Bakeries a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Aunt Millie’s Bakeries as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 43 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Aunt Millie’s Bakeries, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.