Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
WaBa Grill logo

WaBa Grill Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2007
BAbove averageAbove average66/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$341K – $577K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 45 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02910Data QualityExcellent81%Pre-openingFDD 2022 · 4yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

WaBa Grill is a fast-casual franchise serving rice bowls with grilled chicken, steak, and tofu in a healthier, Asian-inspired format. Franchisees run compact restaurants managing food prep, counter service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A WaBa Grill franchise requires a total initial investment of $341K – $577K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$341K – $577K
56th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
189
83rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$341K – $577K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $35K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 45 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 45 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
189 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
6.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $341K – $577K including a $35K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 66/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +11 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 11 closed); 26 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
WaBa Grill Franchise Corp.
Parent company
WaBa Restaurant Group
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2022 FDD
Predecessor
WaBa Grill, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and CEO
Andrew S. Kim
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
181 S. Old Springs Road, Anaheim, CA 92808
Auditor
SABOCOR & CO., LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$13.4M
vs $15.4M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Andrew S. Kim
Headquarters
CA
FDD year
2022
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a quick-service restaurants franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$341K – $577KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2022 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2022 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2022 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $30K

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2022 filing

Initial investment breakdown

WaBa Grill: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$35K$35K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$20K$30K
Equipment, build-out, other$286K$512K
Total initial investment$341K$577K

Source: WaBa Grill 2022 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$341K – $577K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

WaBa Grill: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0%
Technology fee$10K
Training fee$250
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$18K
Inventory (initial)$6K – $7K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

WaBa Grill makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one WaBa Grill unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $341K–$577K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$484K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 154 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How WaBa Grill Compares

Metric
WaBa Grill
Category median
vs median
Investment
$459K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
189
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units189Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 34 of the 2022 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Turnover rate6.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
189
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
11
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
6.0%
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.0%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
8
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
26
0.14 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
7
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2019
173
Franchised units
2020
173±0
Franchised units
2021
184+11
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

71 current owners across 1 state.

  • CA 71

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
45
Loan volume
$16.6M
Median loan
$330K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 45 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 45 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 45 loans
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
16
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
6.7%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
10.8%
n=12,827 loans
Jobs supported
190
2.4 per loan
Lender concentration
15%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 23% went to startups / new businesses, 77% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in limited-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 10.8% vs 10.0% for independents — franchising is associated with 8% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing WaBa Grill franchisees

Hanmi Bank2 loans0.0%
Columbia Bank2 loans0.0%
U.S. Bank, National Association2 loans—

Showing 3 of 16 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for WaBa Grill from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
72%
Avg interest rate
6.71%
Lender concentration
15.4%
Job velocity
2.4 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
8.7%
NAICS 722513
Jobs supported
190

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 15% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Hanmi Bank2$200K0.0%
2Columbia Bank2$1.4M0.0%
3U.S. Bank, National Association2$431KN/A
4Commonwealth Business Bank1$550KN/A
5Bank of America, National Association1$499KN/A
6SouthState Bank, National Association1$330K0.0%
7Citizens Business Bank National Association1$900KN/A
8Shinhan Bank America1$300K0.0%
9Western Alliance Bank1$3.1MN/A
10Bank of Hope1$160KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia1300.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2018
2
2019
5
2020
2
2021
2
2022
1
2024
1

Borrower profile

Existing (2+ yr)7 (54%)
New (< 2 yr)3 (23%)
Ownership change2 (15%)
Unanswered1 (8%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 45 loans
Verdict score66/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average66Verdict score 66/100

189-unit system with strong parent-level financials (net worth $5.05M, net income $1.9M, revenue $13.4M) and one old regulatory settlement (VA, 2015, $2,000). No bankruptcy, going-concern, or distress; parent-level financials so brand equity not separately judged.

High confidence±8 pts
5874

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Virginia State Corporation Commission v WaBa Grill Franchise Corporation and Eric Lee (Case No. SEC-2014-00052). Alleged unregistered franchise sale in violation of Virginia Retail Franchising Act. Settled January 9, 2015 without admission or denial. WaBa Grill and Eric Lee paid $2,000 penalty plus $1,000 for investigation costs.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · SABOCOR & CO., LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $13.4MYr 2: $15.4MNon-royalty: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 66 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR1 old regulatory matter (settled 2015, $2,000)
  2. 02MINORParent financials strong: $5.05M net worth, $1.9M net income
  3. 03MINORNo bankruptcy/going-concern; parent-level financials

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 154 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training89 hrs

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹaddress
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationCalifornia
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Virginia State Corporation Commission v WaBa Grill Franchise Corporation and Eric Lee (Case No. SEC-2014-00052). Alleged unregistered franchise sale in violation of Virginia Retail Franchising Act. Settled January 9, 2015 without admission or denial. WaBa Grill and Eric Lee paid $2,000 penalty plus $1,000 for investigation costs.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
74 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

71 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 71 contacts · $49
Free preview
(714) 853-••••CA
Unlock all 71 contacts
(310) 515-••••CA
(626) 284-••••CA
(714) 971-••••CA
(951) 658-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a WaBa Grill franchise?

The total investment to open a WaBa Grill franchise ranges from $341K – $577K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do WaBa Grill franchise owners earn?

WaBa Grill makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns WaBa Grill?

WaBa Grill is franchised by WaBa Grill Franchise Corp.. Its parent company is WaBa Restaurant Group. Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the WaBa Grill FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the WaBa Grill FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is WaBa Grill's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for WaBa Grill (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many WaBa Grill franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, WaBa Grill has 189 total units in the United States, including 184 franchised units and 5 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is WaBa Grill a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates WaBa Grill as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 66 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent WaBa Grill, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.